The birth of australia

The birth of our nation is often referred to as 'federation'. This is because the Constitution created a 'federal' system of government. Under a federal system, powers are divided between a central government and individual states. In Australia, power was divided between the Australian Government and the six state governments.

The australian government

The Australian Government, sometimes referred to as the Commonwealth Government or the federal government, passes laws which affect the whole country. Section 51 of the Constitution defines a number of issues that the Australian Government can make laws on.


The commonwealth of Australia

The Commonwealth of Australia was formed in 1901 when six independent British colonies agreed to join together and become states of a new nation. The rules of government for this new nation were enshrined in the Australian Constitution, which defined how the Australian Government was to operate and what issues it could pass laws on.

Australian flag

The Australian flag is made of the union jack a large six pointed star also known as the commonwealth star, and five white stars one small five pointed star and four larger seven pointed stars.