Arthropod Lab

By Harry Katz Vu-PAPABIO-3


The objectives are to learn about the traits of arthropods, and to recognize the differences between different classes of arthropods.

Background Information

Arthropods make up about 90% of the animal kingdom and are a part of the phylum arthropoda. An arthropod has an exoskeleton, a segmented body, jointed legs and appendages and bilateral symmetry. There are five classes of arthropods. The first class is insecta which has 3 body regions,six legs, wings and two antennae. The next class is arachnida which has two body regions, eight legs and no antennae. The third class is crustacea which has two body regions, two pairs of antennae, five or more pairs of legs and is mainly aquatic. The fourth class is chilopoda which has a well-defined head, are flattened top to bottom, has one pair of legs per segment and has one pair of antennae. The final class is diplopoda which has two pairs of legs per segment (except for the first four segments which have one pair of legs), one pair of antennae, a well defined head and is usually cylindrical.

Integumentary System

Arthropods have exoskeletons. The exoskeleton is broken up into three parts. These parts are the head, thorax and abdomen. The skin is made up of a tough polymer called chitin, this is used as the arthropods "armor". The exoskeleton has four layers. These layers are the epicuticle, procuticle, epidermis and basement membrane.
Big image

Extra Information

Interesting Facts

-Ancestral arthropods were the first land animals.

-Arthropods have an open circulatory system.

-When arthropods grow they shed their exoskeleton, and grow a new exoskeleton.

-Arthropods can harm a person's health.

crayfish taxonomy

kingdom: animalia

phylum: arthropoda

class: crustacean

order: decapods

family: cambaridae

genus: cambarus