Freedom Week!!!

Austin Fuquay and Briana Glover

The Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of Independence was signed in 1776.  56 men from 13 states signed the Declaration of Independence. Some of the most important men who signed was Ben Franklin, John Hancock, Thomas Jefferson, and John Adams.
Big image

The US Constitution

The US Constitution is also known as the Bill of Rights. The Bill of Rights is the first 10 amendments in the US Constitution. It was signed by the third president Thomas Jefferson in 1791.
Big image

American Revolution

The American Revolution (1775-83) is also known as the American Revolutionary War and the U.S. War of Independence. The conflict arose from growing tensions between residents of Great Britain's 13 North American colonies and the colonial government.Skirmishes between British troops and colonial militiamen in Lexington and Concord in April 1775 kicked off the armed conflict, and by the following summer, the rebels were waging a full-scale war for their independence. France entered the American Revolution on the side of the colonists in 1778, turning what had essentially been a civil war into an international conflict. After French assistance helped the Continental Army force the British surrender at Yorktown, Virginia, in 1779, the Americans had effectively won their independence, though fighting would not formally end until 1783.
Big image

Emancipation Proclamation

President Abraham Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation on January 1, 1863, as the nation approached its third year of bloody civil war. The proclamation declared "that all persons held as slaves" within the rebellious states "are, and henceforward shall be free."