NC General Assembly

-Wyatt Barrier

NC General Assembly

The General Assembly drafts and legislates the state laws of North Carolina, also known as the General Statutes. The General Assembly is a bicameral legislature, consisting of the NC House of Representatives and the NC Senate.


The Senate has 50 members who serve a 2 year term. The Lieutenant Governor is President of the Senate and presides over the daily session. The Lieutenant Governor is elected by the citizens of NC for a 4 year term. The Lt. Governor has no vote in the Senate except to break a tie. The Senate elects officers from their membership including the President Pro Tempore.

House of Representatives

The House of Representatives has 120 members who serve a 2 year term. The presiding officer of the House of Representatives is the Speaker of the House. The Speaker is elected by the members from their membership for a 2 year term. The Speaker’s duties include maintaining order in the House and appointing members to the House standing committees.