Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 05/01/2022

Behind the Scenes

Thank you, PSMS Secretaries!!

Last week, we celebrated our Administrative Assistants (Secretaries). As you know, they are typically the first point of contact for our families throughout the school year. We thank them for all they do!


Our ASB Officers!!

I wanted to give a shout out to our ASB officers (& Mrs. Harrington) for the time and effort they've put in to continue to come up with creative ways for student involvement. From informative posters to handing out coupons for spirit days, their leadership is appreciated.


From left to right: Cali, Brooke, Sylvi, & Grace

Big picture

8th Grade Families *Mark Your Calendars

June 17th, 2022

This will be an evening of celebrating the Class of 2026! We will have a promotion ceremony at Port Susan Middle School from 6-7 p.m. (families invited), followed by a social/dance (8th grade students only) from 7-8:30 p.m. to celebrate their accomplishments. If you're interested in helping out with this event, please contact Port Susan PTO (portsusanpto@gmail.com)


**We Need Pictures**

We'd like to put together a slideshow of memories for our 8th grade students. We have pictures throughout their time here at Port Susan, but would like to reach out and ask that you share any pictures from their time together in school that you have as well. These could be pictures from preschool until the present & the more students in the pictures, the better (5th grade camp, elementary field trips, concerts, sports, etc)!


Please email these pictures directly to aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu or wholtum@stanwood.wednet.edu by June 1st, 2022.


If you're interested in helping to organize the 8th grade promotion celebration on the evening of June 17th, please reach out to our PTO (portsusanpto@gmail.com) for volunteer opportunities.


August 29, 2022

Incoming Freshman are invited to Stanwood High School for Link Crew Freshman Orientation from 8 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (see more information below).

Big picture

Yearbook Sales

We currently have our memory books for sale. Students can purchase through our office for $20 (cash or check) or you can go to our website online to purchase by credit card.
Big picture

Finishing Strong

We are down to 35 school days left of the 2021-2022 school year. It is important that we continue to look and monitor our academics as we finish strong. This past week, we have encouraged all students to also look at their AR goals for Language Arts classes and make sure they are spending time throughout their day reading.


At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.
Big picture

End of Year Dates & Testing

Upcoming Dates/End of Year:

May 2-20 SBA Testing

May 20 School Dance/Social

May 23-27 Square Dancing

May 31 Food Drive begins

June 1 & 8 Grade Prep PDW

June 15 NO LATE START (full day)

June 17 End of Year Celebrations and 8th Grade Evening Promotion

June 20 Last Day of School (9:40 a.m. release) & Grades Due by 1p.m.

June 23 Report Cards Go Out


State Testing:

We will begin testing through math and language arts classes this week. Please remind your students to bring their chromebooks fully charged daily along with headphones that work to plug into the school issued chromebooks (students may not use wireless headphones or personal computers for state testing). We will stay on our regular bell schedules throughout this time and students will have plenty of time to finish their test because they can pause and continue the following day.

Power Hour/Student Support

We have added a day of support for Power Hour this round. Thank you to those that have made this happen for our students as well as parents for their support in transporting students. It has been a success!
Big picture

Week of May 2nd through 6th

**Teacher Appreciation Week**


Monday:

Regular Schedule

Admin/Counselor Meeting 8 a.m.

Advisory - Lesson


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Boys Soccer vs Cascade


Wednesday:

PDW - Staff Meeting IN PERSON (info will be emailed)

RED Wednesday


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Boys Soccer vs Anacortes

Track @ Arlington


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Enjoy the SUNSHINE!!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Anastasia Stanton Astanton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Deborah Hepper is Kelsey Huerter Khuerter@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Sheri Schroeder is Delanie May dmay@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Sara Harlan is Ronda Russell rrussell@stanwood.wednet.edu

District Information

Big picture
Big picture

Volunteers

As we welcome volunteers back into our buildings on April 11th, we will continue to follow the practice that there are more pertinent times than others for volunteers to be in classrooms. If there are times when volunteers would be more appropriately placed in other capacities in the building than in your classroom, please let your principal know.
Stanwood-Camano School District Replacement Capital Projects and Technology Levy