Stages of Government

by Myah Lugar

Stage 1: Primitive Communism

The first stage of Karl Marx's Government Theory is primitive communism. Primitive communism took place in a hunter gatherer society. It was a community where everyone shared what they needed, they also collected and hunted together. In this community, the best hunter or the oldest usually was in charge and made decisions as part of a group. It started with the first men ever, but it ended after the discoveries and inventing of; Agriculture, Domestication of Animals, and Private property.

Stage 2: Slave Society

The second stage of Karl Marx's Government Theory is slave society. After primitive communism ended, people were divided into classes (slaves and owners). The society needed large work force to produce enough goods, especially for large city populations. Land became owned property, and more private. In order to keep this stage going, owners needed to keep conquering, the result if they don't is their work force will run out, and that's just what happened. Another reason that the slave society ended is because they ran out of new slaves. It also was hard to run a large empire, which was created with all the new slaves. This leads us to stage 3.

Stage 3: Feudalism

The third stage is feudalism. In a society based on feudalism, the people are divided into classes. There are two main classes; Nobles and peasants. The class a person had was determined by birth, there is little to no form of movement, so in more understandable words, the class you get is usually hereditary. The peasants are much poorer than the nobles. The nobles all make a vassalage with each other, or an agreement between 2 people where they both earn some benefit. They also follow a system called chivalry, or a system of values such as honor and loyalty. Feudalism ended when more goods and services were created, this created a new class called merchants. As the merchants increased their profits, they challenged the nobles causing revolution, and leading to stage 4.

Stage 4: Capitalism

Capitalism is the 4th stage of Karl Marx's Government Theory. Living in a capitalist society, all production is in the hands of each individual, and people are paid for their work. This form of government is best for profit, One company or provider makes all of one thing. So for instance, there would be a store made only for shoes, and they would make all different kinds of shoes. Capitalism is entirely focused on profits for the employer, not the employee. This can cause uneasiness in the employees because they are not being paid fairly for their work. They are being paid for part of it, but not all of it. Employees would rebel and take authority of the factories, moving us on to stage 5.

Stage 5: Socialism

Stage 5 is socialism. In a social society there is a planned economy, it is planned based on the need, not demands. It is run by a group of workers to make work force the best it can be, so there isn't really a real government. Instead of wages earned, the citizens earn labor vouchers. Socialism is the first step of communism, if socialism works then all the capitalist traits of he city will be discarded, this leads us to the final stage.

Stage 6: Communism

The 6th and final stage of Karl Marx's Government Theory is communism. Now, no one has ever successfully completed communism, there have been attempts by USSR, China, and Cuba. In a communist society, there is no government and no nation, it is stateless. A communist society is also classlessness, in which everyone works for everyone. There is also no private property. There is no money in a capitalist society, instead you are paid in what you need to survive. Everyone and everything is equal. This is the final stage of Karl Marx's Government Theory.
These are all of Karl Marx's stages of government. Even if Marx is long gone, his ideas are still influencing and changing the way government is today.
Big image