Kindergarten Update

January 11, 2016

Last week's fun...

We had a great week back after Winter Break! Here are some highlights!

*We began Topic 8 in our math series. This topic introduces subtraction.

*We began learning about opinion writing during Writer's Workshop. The children are learning about book reviews.

*We reviewed making connections to our own experiences when reading and how to distinguish fact from opinion.

*We began learning about weather, in particular, winter in Leawood. The children will be bringing home letters they've written listing signs of winter in our town so that they can be mailed to friends or family in another location. We're asking that the recipients write back to tell us about winter where they live. This is always an exciting activity. The kids love getting mail!

*No sight words were introduced.

This week's fun...

*The sight words "his" and "an" will be introduced.

*We'll continue our study of weather.

*Subtraction will remain the focus of our math lessons.

*We'll introduce the parts of a book review.

*We'll learn about Martin Luther King, Jr. and his important contributions to our society.

Important dates...

*Tuesday, Jan. 12: Early dismissal at 2:00

*Thursday, Jan. 14: Library check out

*Friday, Jan. 15: Book orders due

*Monday, Jan. 18: No school in observance of MLK Day

*Tuesday, Jan. 26: Early dismissal at 2:00

*Thursday, Jan. 28: 100th day of Kindergarten (barring any snow days)...more informations will be coming about this fun day!

*Tuesday, Feb. 9: Parent/teacher conferences in the evening

*Wednesday, Feb. 10: Valentine Party 2:30-3:30

*Thursday, Feb. 11: No school for students...Parent/teacher conferences all day and evening.

*Friday, Feb. 12: No school

*Monday, Feb. 15: No school in observance of President's Day