Welcome Aboard!

August 23, 2021

Big picture

Dear Stettin Families,

As we near our Back to School Open House evenings and the beginning of the 21-22 school year, I thought this might be a great time to send our first newsletter. Today I will share a few details which will hopefully help you prepare for "setting sail into the new school year".


If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out. I am happy to help with anything you need!


Sincerely,

Mrs. Kelly Halvorsen

Principal

Click here for our Stettin Family Handbook

A comprehensive guide to life at Stettin.

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

We Can Help!

Marathon County's "Fill a Backpack Fill a Need" program is here to help. We have numerous backpacks full of school supplies right here at Stettin for you. If you could use help, please just stop at the display near the main office and take what you need when you come to Open House.
Big picture

WSD Nutrition Service News

    Wausau School District is participating in the USDA Seamless Summer Option (SSO) for the
      entirety of the 2021-22 school year. This means that our school is providing free meals (breakfast and lunch) to all students!


      This program provides additional support and flexibility for our district to continue serving meals to children while maintaining safety measures and managing the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.


      Even though receipt of free meals does not depend on an approved free and reduced-price meal application, we are still distributing and processing them soWausau School District families may qualify for P-EBT benefits as well as other school funding.

      What's for breakfast and lunch each day?

      Our breakfast and lunch menus can be found on the following link https://wausau.nutrislice.com/menu/menus-eula. All nutrition information regarding the menus can be found on this link as well.




      Dear Parents/Guardians,


      The Wausau School District continues to create academic and social-emotional support systems linked directly to the needs of our students. Beginning September of the 2021-22 school year, all elementary, middle, and high schools in the Wausau School District are implementing a social and emotional learning model called, Leader in Me.


      Leader in Me is a whole-district improvement model that uses teaching practices to promote social and emotional learning for students in kindergarten through twelfth grade. Leader in Me is based on the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, and the work of Stephen Covey. The model empowers students with the leadership and life skills they need to thrive in the 21st century. These principles allow the development of student leaders who not only succeed academically but also are proactive contributors to our school and community.


      Through teacher-led instruction, Leader in Me students will acquire and apply skills to:

      • understand and manage emotions

      • set and achieve positive goals

      • feel and show empathy for others

      • establish and maintain positive relationships

      • make responsible decisions

      • work well with others

      • use leadership skills in and out of the classroom



      Thank you for assisting the Wausau School District in building a system of student support. Your support will ensure that each student has the opportunity to receive the assistance they need to achieve social-emotional success. If you would like to learn more about Leader in Me, please refer to the Parent's Guide or reach out to any staff member in our building.


      Sincerely,


      Mrs. Kelly Halvorsen, Principal

      Stettin Elementary

      WSD COVID-19 Protocols 2021-22

      Below are the Wausau School District's COVID-19 protocols as we begin the 2021-22 school year. Please know that guidelines and protocols can change at any time and without notice. If that happens, we will be sure to notify you as soon as possible.

      Masks and Face Coverings

      • As of June 8, 2021, the policy in the Wausau School District states that masks and face coverings are optional in all district buildings.

      Social Distancing

      • All students will be offered an in-person spot at their home school. Social distancing will not be followed in most situations.

      Cohorting

      • Students will not be cohorted during the 2021-2022 school year.

      Sick Students, Staff, and Visitors

      • Students, staff, and visitors who have symptoms of infectious illness, such as influenza or COVID-19, should stay home and be referred to their healthcare provider for testing and care.

      Attendance

      • All students will attend their home school in-person. Those students who wish to remain virtual will need to enroll at WAVE.

      • When quarantined, students are expected to continue learning by completing lessons and classroom work. Teachers will continue to make daily lessons and classroom work available through Itslearning or Seesaw and will be available for support.

      Quarantining

      • Those who test positive for COVID-19 are required to isolate. Marathon County Health Department will contact all positive cases.

      • Marathon County Health Department will also implement all quarantines.

      Contact Tracing

      • Marathon County Health Department will conduct all contact tracing.

      • School nurses will make the Marathon County Health Department aware if they are notified of a positive COVID-19 case.

      Cleaning and Disinfecting

      Per CDC guidelines, cleaning once a day is sufficient to remove potential viruses that may be on surfaces. Disinfecting kills any remaining germs on surfaces.

      • Cleaning will be completed once a day by custodial staff.

      • If there’s a positive case of COVID, and the case is known within 24 hours, the space will be cleaned AND disinfected by custodial staff.

      Filtration

      • MERV-13 filtration will be used throughout the district to balance energy use and air quality.

      Hand Washing and Hand Sanitizer

      • Hand sanitizer will be available in every classroom and at the main entrance of each building.

      • Hand washing with soap and water for 20 seconds will be encouraged at all levels. Elementary students will have a hand washing schedule.

      Classroom Materials

      • Classroom materials can be shared. Students will wash hands or use hand sanitizer after using shared materials.

      Our 2021-2022 Stettin Staff

      Kindergarten

      Kelly Meeks kmeeks@wausauschools.org

      Taylor Prososki tprososki@wausauschools.org


      Grade 1

      Cassie Zipp czipp@wausauschools.org

      Kristie Butler kbutler@wausauschools.org

      Haley Ramcheck hramcheck@wausauschools.org


      Grade 2

      Beth Gruber bgruber@wausauschools.org

      Ashley Langbecker alangbec@wausauschools.org


      Grade 3

      Timille Johnson tjohnson@wausauschools.org

      Kristin Paulson kpaulson@wausauschools.org


      Grade 4

      Kelly Brandt kbrandt@wausauschools.org

      Thomas Dziadosz tdziados@wausauschools.org


      Grade 5

      Mark Sepnafski msepnafs@wausauschools.org

      Taylor Schlinkmann tschlinkmann@wausauschools.org


      Special Education

      Amanda Jacobson ajacobso@wausauschools.org

      Jill Kleman jkleman@wausauschools.org


      Speech and Language

      Meghan Oselka moselka@wausauschools.org


      EL

      Kara Lee kalee@wausauschools.org


      Encore

      Art

      Shanna Henricksen shenriksen@wausauschools.org

      Science

      Jeanette Ryan jryan@wausauschools.org

      Music

      Sam Ward sward@wausauschools.org

      Physical Education

      Vickie Christianson vchristianson@wausauschools.org

      Library Media Specialist

      Julie Gaskey jgaskey@wausauschools.org


      Pupil Services

      School Counselor

      Nicole Melander nmelande@wausauschools.org

      School Social Worker

      Jennifer Graf jgraf@wausauschools.org

      School Psychologist

      Hallie Beal hbeal@wausauschools.org


      Health Aide

      Krista Dallman kdallman@wausauschools.org


      Nutrition Services

      Tammy Lease tlease@wausauschools.org


      Custodian

      Dale Sann dsann@wausauschools.org


      Administrative Assistant

      Mary Steffen msteffen@wausauschools.org


      Principal

      Kelly Halvorsen khalvors@wausauschools.org


      Paraprofessionals

      Jenny Schneider, Michael Czech, Nicole Williams, Xang Lee, Matt Pijan, Erin Niewolny

      WSD and Stettin Web Pages

      We have recently updated our website and are currently in the process of rebuilding and improving our district and school site. Thank you for your patience as we work to be build a user-friendly and helpful site.
      The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).