Eagle Edition

September 16, 2021

Glennwood Elementary ~ Where Learning Takes Flight

Holly Brookins, PhD, Principal ~ Jill Tolsma, Instructional Coach Karen Hearn, School Manager

College Colors Day at GL is Tomorrow!

Glennwood will celebrate College Colors Day tomorrow to kick us off into fall break and show our team pride as football season is up and running (literally and figuratively). Be sure to wear your favorite team's colors and spirit wear tomorrow!
Big picture

It's time for Hispanic Heritage Month - a celebration to honor all Hispanic people who live in the United States. This celebration goes from September 15 to October 15. We celebrate their heritage, the significant presence and influence of Hispanics in our society, and their broad spectrum of traditions and culture.


We encourage you to explore and join us in celebrating in some way. How? There are many ways to celebrate! Here are just a few of them:


Hispanic Heritage Month Choice Board


Placita Latina Celebration in Decatur and Avondale Estates


Listen to Music

A great way to teach children about Hispanic culture is by exposing them to music in Spanish. Choose age-appropriate music or music by key figures in Spanish music or just sing along with the 21 Speaking countries song in Rockalingua (username: Glennwood and password: glennwood)


Get into the Kitchen

Food is always something that reminds people of home. Hispanic culture has a plethora of cuisine to enjoy from every Hispanic culture. Parents can get into the kitchen with their children and prepare recipes from diverse Hispanic cultures. Another option is to eat from a Hispanic restaurant and try something new. Nowadays, it is easy to find Argentinian empanadas, Cuban sandwiches, El Salvadorian pupusas, and Mexican tacos in the Metropolitan Atlanta area.


Read Spanish or Bilingual Books

Books and stories often tell a story that reflects the background of a certain culture. You can read Spanish language or bilingual books to your children to learn more about various Hispanic cultures. We are developing a virtual Spanish library here.


Have a Great Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration! ¡Celebremos Juntos!

Important Information about Gifted Review

Each fall semester the gifted review team looks at existing student data to discuss students’ needs and to determine if further evaluation for possible gifted identification is needed. If you are interested in having the team discuss your child’s needs, you may complete a Recommendation for Review Form (found at the website below) and submit it to the Gifted Specialist at your child’s school by October 6th. No additional information is needed.


The Gifted Specialist for Glennwood Elementary is Susanna Shewan. For more detailed information about the review process and to obtain a copy of the Recommendation for Review Form, please contact the Gifted Specialist for your school at sshewan@csdecatur.net or visit the following website: https://www.csdecatur.net/Page/581.

Angela DiTerlizzi Author Visit on September 29th

Angela DiTerlizzi will be once again visiting Glennwood (virtually) at 8:30 am debuting her newest title, Have You Seen This Book? A hilarious, interactive book that breaks the fourth wall about a boy who confronts a book thief when his favorite story is stolen. Perfect for fans of Don’t Push the Button and There’s a Monster in Your Book!


When a boy discovers that his favorite book is missing, he asks you if you’ve seen it. But with every description he gives and every page you turn, you realize that his missing book is in YOUR hands! So what do you do? And what does HE do when he figures it out?


Order forms to purchase the books were sent home this week in communication folders. Students will receive an author-signed bookplate. You may download another copy below if needed. All orders are due by Friday, October 1st. This author visit is brought to us courtesy of Little Shop of Stories. The Glennwood Media Center receives 20% of all book sales.

This week, I began teaching a lesson in 2nd grade on Peer Pressure. I have tried to balance this focus on negative peer pressure with self-confidence as that is one of the greatest factors that will protect students from succumbing to negative peer pressure. We began the lesson by brainstorming what exactly peer pressure means and how that has shown up in their lives. We then watched a BrainPOP video on peer pressure and discussed the different forms that negative peer pressure can take. We also talked about strategies to help counter negative peer pressure and played a game where students had to identify if different scenarios demonstrated negative peer pressure or not. Please reach out if you would like any further information on this. The students received a confidence-building activity where they could design their own crests with different symbols and colors to reflect their positive qualities and inner wisdom.
Big picture


PTA Events: Mark your calendars!


Friday, September 17 - Java Joy Coffee and Snack Cart for Glennwood Teachers and Staff -- The PTA will send our teachers and staff into Fall Break with Joy (and caffeine!) with the Java Joy Coffee and Snack Cart.


Monday, September 27 -- September "Wine" Out with Purple Corkscrew -- On September 27, the PTA will receive 10% from all retail sales and wine tastings at the Purple Corkscrew. Reservations are requested by September 24 for wine tastings. (Contact the Purple Corkscrew directly for wine tasting reservations -- no reservations needed to shop in the retail space.) Located at 32 N. Avondale Road, Avondale Estates. Open 4 pm - 7 pm.


Monday, September 27 -- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee Meeting

Calling all Eagles! Please join us for the first DEI Committee Meeting of the year on September 27 at 8:00 pm! We are looking for parents who would be interested in joining our committee to help with brainstorming fresh, new ideas for DEI, implementing these initiatives, and serving as the connection between the committee and the greater Glennwood community. If you are interested in joining the committee, you can contact gillespieai@gmail.com (Amanda Gillespie) and/or nikhila.raol@gmail.com (Nikhila Raol). Zoom details to follow!


Saturday, October 23, 12:00 PM -- Glennwood PTA First Annual Chili Cook-Off at the Wilson Center / Ebster Park! Join us in building community, raising some funds, and creating bragging rights about the best chili this side of the tracks.


What can you do?


1. Create a team - Got a solid chili recipe? Wanna challenge your neighbors?

Contact James Herndon (jamesherndon3@gmail.com) if you are interested in joining or creating a team - the more the merrier. We will have veggie and traditional categories.


2. Get ready to sell some tickets. All are optional - but we will be sending them home with your kiddo starting in a few weeks. Each ticket gets the holder a number of samples and the right to vote for the best.


3. Volunteer in other ways - Set up, clean up, takedown. We will reach out later.

New Art Easels at Glennwood!

Daniel Burfield is a sophomore at DHS and a Glennwood Alumni. This is his service project requirement for becoming an Eagle Scout. He really enjoyed art here with Mr. Madden and remembered that they had to share a lot of materials so he thought it would be helpful and fun for the art students now to have their own table easel for painting! These wooden art easels were designed by him and created in the scout building behind the school.
Big picture

DHS Homecoming is this week! The Bulldogs will take on Arabia Mountain in a home football game Friday night. The kickoff is at 7:30 PM and the gates open at 6:30 PM. The game is a “white-out” so show your spirit by wearing white. DBB sponsor Amy Widener will be giving out hand sanitizer to the first 500 people, and there will be a special spirit item for the first 1,000 fans as well! We will have Hattie Marie’s BBQ in the lower concession stand and King of Pops will be nearby. Plus, there will be DHS swag, magnets, and flags available for purchase.

Masks are required!


And next week DHS is excited to welcome Glenwood Elementary to the September 24 home game as our special guest. Glenwood students who show their student ID will get into the game FREE with a paying adult. DHS will take on Stone Mountain High School, and kickoff is at 7:30 PM. GO BULLDOGS!

Special Education Department

Families Of Children Under Stress (FOCUS)

CSD Special Education Department welcomes Ms. Jaide Camacho, Program Director of FOCUS. Ms. Camacho will share the variety of ways her organization assists families with children who have special needs. FOCUS provides multi-levels of support for the whole family. Come and learn what this wonderful organization has to offer you and your family!

Audience: Families of Special Needs Students, K-12th grades & all Levels of impact.

Date: October 7, 2021

Time: 6pm-7pm

Location: Virtual

Click here to RSVP or email cgrant@csdecatur.net


The Power of the NOW & COMP Waivers

Jackie McNair, Parent Mentor of Gwinnett County, will present a detailed explanation of the New Options Waiver (NOW) and the Comprehensive Supports Waiver Program (COMP) for CSD families. These waivers can provide a financial bridge to assisting your student in having a positive outcome once they transition out of school. In this meeting, Ms. McNair will share how her family manages and utilizes the waiver to assist with sustainable supports for post-secondary transition.

*It is important for families to apply for these waivers while their child is in school.

Audience: Renfroe & DHS Parents of High to Mid. impact special needs students

Date: October 14, 2021

Time: 6pm-7pm

Location: Virtual

Click here to RSVP or email cgrant@csdecatur.net

News from the Decatur Education Foundation

The Race is ON! One of Oakhurst's most anticipated events -- the Madison Ave Derby --is happening on October 16th and registration has begun at www.madisonavesoapboxderby.org! Participation in this community event is practically a rite of passage for Decatur kids, and it raises important funds for issues affecting our students. This year's Derby beneficiary is the Decatur Student Center, located in CSD Decatur High School and equipped to attend to our students' behavioral health and non-academic needs. To learn more about the Student Center, please visit www.decatureducationfoundation/behavioral-health. See you at the Derby!


Homework Help: We are continuing our Virtual Pals tutoring program in which we pair a 2nd-8th grade student with an upper high school student or adult volunteer to help with homework, time management, and motivation. If you would like to sign your student up for the program, you can go here. If you would like to help as a volunteer tutor, you can apply here. (High school students can earn volunteer hours!)


Could you be a mentor? We’re also seeking 15 women and 15 men volunteers to serve as mentors for our AIM Scholars mentoring program. Third grade students are paired with an adult mentor who help them by supporting their Academics and explore their Interests; Mentors also help their students connect to educational and enrichment opportunities. For just 2-4 hours per month, you can have a meaningful impact in the life of a student. For more information, please visit www.decatureducationfoundation.org/mentoring

Big picture