The Friday Feature!

News and Notes for the Madison Staff (12/4/15)

Winter Concert Decoration and Sign-Up

If you have Christmas decorations light-up, outdoor, etc that could adorn our stage that you are not using this year or can do without for two days; please bring them in to school. We'd love to tchotchke up the place on Monday evening!


Specialists, it is time to sign-up for the winter concert assignments. Here is a shared document with a couple slots available for decorating the night before! https://docs.google.com/a/cusd200.org/document/d/1Xat5m5eD5IMc68jQVpzSEDeksGIVZmtYErm6aaYW21I/edit?usp=sharing

Plickers

Diane has a full class set of the student cards. Please let me know if you try it. I'd love to check it out! www.plickers.com

Mid-Year Local Assessments

The mid-year testing window is December 1-January 14. Please note the following changes to save printing time and costs:

  • Test directions will be printed back-to-back on yellow paper.
  • Test answers will be printed back-to-back on colored paper separated from directions.
  • Tests will be printed back-to-back on white paper.

Reminder: 2nd Grade only tests addition.

EXCITING DOT UPDATES!

  • New copier installed in work room over Winter Break!
  • New printer/copier/fax installed in second grade wing, office, and library as well.
  • Before Winter Break, wireless access points are being installed inside every 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade classroom!
  • More classroom wireless access points coming to primary grades next year!
  • Future Steps: Laptop carts replaced with Chromebook (or similar) carts.
  • Future Steps: Multiple devices designated to each classroom.
  • Future Steps: There are some creative and feasible solutions to securing wireless access for Marian Park and other apartment buildings in D200.

IMPORTANT DATES

Wed, Dec 9: 8:30AM MIT

Fri, Dec 11: 9:20AM Edison Band and Orchestra performance

Fri, Dec 11: 2:00-3:30PM Birthday Books (Nov and Dec)

Fri, Dec 11: 3:45PM Helping Hands at the Tameling house

Mon, Dec 14: Fun Fur Day and cookie exchange

Tue, Dec 15: Bring on the Bling

Tue, Dec 15: 9:30AM Winter Concert Dress Rehearsal

Tue, Dec 15: 7:00-7:40PM Gr 1-3 Winter Concert

Tue, Dec 15: 8:00-8:40PM Gr 4 ,5, Chorus Winter Concert

Wed, Dec 16: Head Adornment Day

Wed, Dec 16: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Thu, Dec 17: Christmas movie character

Fri, Dec 18: Ugly Christmas Sweater

Fri, Dec 18: Holiday lunch

Wed, Jan 6: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Mon, Jan 11: ACCESS testing for EL begins

Wed, Jan 13: 8:30AM MIT Meeting

Wed, Jan 13: 7:30PM BOE Meeting at Madison

Thu, Jan 14: Local Assessment window closed (all spreadsheets in)

Fri, Jan 15: Institute Day

Mon, Jan 18: No School

Tue, Jan 19: Shift Day - Monday

Wed, Jan 20: 8:30AM Staff Meeting

Sat, Jan 23: Pancake Breakfast

Mon, Jan 25: 10AM K-2 Reading Incentive Kick-off

Mon, Jan 25: 11AM 3-5 Reading Incentive Kick-off

Wed, Jan 27: 8:30AM MIT Meeting

Thu, Jan 28: 2:15PM Group photos for yearbook

Fri, Feb 12: ACCESS testing window closed

Wed, Feb 17: Coin Recipient Lists Due Date

Wed, Mar 2: 7PM Kindergarten Round-up

Thu, Mar 3: 10:30AM Coin Assembly

Thu, Mar 3: 1:30PM K-2 Reading Incentive Assembly

Thu, Mar 3: 2:30PM 3-5 Reading Incentive Asembly