Swain County

Gateway to the Smokies

Some History

Swain County was founded in 1871, and was named after David L. Swain, the 26th governor of North Carolina (1832-1835), and former president of the University of North Carolina (1835-1868).

Where We Are

We are located in the Mountain region of North Carolina, right on the Tennessee border. Counties surrounding us include Sevier County (North), Haywood County (East), Jackson County (Southeast), Macon County (South), Graham County (Southwest), and Blount County (Northwest). Some natural landmarks in the area include the Great Smoky Mountains and Clingmans Dome. Other tourist attractions include visiting Cherokee to go to the casino and to meet Native Americans, and to go rafting on the Nantahala River.

Our Government

  • On our County Board of Commissioners, we have seven members.
  • Our County Manager is Kevin S. King.
  • Our County Seat is Bryson City.
  • There are four members on the city council of Bryson City.
  • Currently, our position for the city manager is open, and we are looking to hire!
  • The Mayor of Bryson City is Tom Sutton.

Bryson City's Old Courthouse

Built in 1908, this former-courthouse now serves as a heritage museum.

What to Do in Bryson City

Bryson City is known for being near the Great Smoky Mountains, and for its outdoor activities, including kayaking, rafting, tubing, biking, hiking, zip-lining, and fishing. Be sure to check out camping as well!