Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 01/09/2022

Thank you!

As we welcomed our students back after winter break, there is absolutely no way it would have been as smooth without our secretaries, our health room staff, and the communication of our families. Not only did we have inclement weather, we had a number families stop by for the support of our health room. Thank you for working through these times together!
Big picture

Students in Action

Take a look at the pictures below from Mrs. Klein's science class prior to winter break. It looks like we had some successful "houses" to withstand an earthquake!
Mrs. Zurcher's Home Ec class made fried rice...delicious!

Building Security - Doorbell

Throughout the day, ALL exterior doors to the school will remain locked once the students arrive safely in the morning. We have a doorbell (pictured below) for parents &/or students that need assistance after the school day begins. This is another added layer of security for our staff and students throughout the day. Our office is still open to parents/guardians, we just ask that you ring the doorbell and a staff member will open the doors for you.
Big picture

Safe School App & Additional Resources/Support

A reminder that our district is enrolled in the SafeSchools Alert program (picture below). This provides a way to easily report tips on bullying, harassment, drugs, vandalism, or any other safety issues you are concerned about. Tips may be submitted anonymously. Thank you for helping to support our school community!


Additional Resources/Support:

• National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-8255

• 24 Hour Care Crisis Line (VOA) 800-584-3578

• Care Crisis Chat 24/7 www.imhurting.org

• Catholic Community Services (mental health) 425-257-2111

• Domestic Violence Services of Snohomish County 425-252-2873

• Crisis Text Line: Text HOME to 741741

• Crisis Connections: 866-427-4747

• The Trevor Project: 1-866-488-7386 www.thetrevorproject.org

• WA Listens (crisis line for stress related to COVID-19): 1-833-681-0211

Big picture

Girls Basketball and 6th-8th Boys and Girls Wrestling Registration Now Open

Third Season sports is quickly approaching. For this sports season we have 7th and 8th Grade Girls Basketball and 6th-8th Grade Boys and Girls Wrestling.


Practices will start after school on Monday, January 24th. All athletes will need to be cleared by Friday, January 21st in order to participate on time. Girls Basketball will practice at PSMS, and Wrestling will be at SMS (athletes will ride the shuttle and be picked up from SMS).


In order to register for the season, please use this link: Girls Basketball and Wrestling Registration Form (Third Season)


Our office will need to have a hard copy of your athlete's physical as well as the emergency authorization form. If you have these on file from one of the first sports seasons, we do not need another copy.


As we enter this third sports season, you may be aware that the district continues to struggle with transportation. When we are not able to schedule a bus, we use vans and parents to help transport students to their away contests. If you are able to drive your athlete to away games/matches, please fill out this form: Parent Transportation Waiver for Middle School Sports.


Finally, both basketball and wrestling are considered high-risk sports. There are new Covid screening requirements in place. There will be screening testing of all athletes, coaches, trainers and supporting personnel, regardless of vaccination status 3 times weekly.

  • Among those screening tests, at least one must occur no sooner than the day before the competition; ideally and whenever possible, the day of the event. High-risk sporting activities include basketball, wrestling, water polo, and indoor cheer.

  • Full details for this update (dated December 17, 2021) can be found in the Washington State K-12 Requirements for Schools.


Please provide your consent online by using this google form: Consent Form for Rapid COVID-19 Antigen Test


Please let us know if you have any questions,


Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director: cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Sonia Kline, Athletic Secretary: skline@stanwood.wednet.edu

Big picture

Week of January 10th through 14th

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Lesson

VB Game vs SMS


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Wednesday:

Regular WHITE Wednesday Schedule

Varsity VB @ Totem

Varsity BB vs Totem


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Friday:

Regular Schedule

**Spirit Day: Tropical Day (see information below)

Advisory - MLK Virtual Assembly


**NO School Monday (MLK)

Big picture

Future Dates

January 17 - Martin Luther King Jr Day - No School

January 27 - End of Semester (grades K - 12)

January 28 - No School - Grading Day

February 18 - 21 - Mid Winter Break/Presidents Weekend

March 30 - April 1 - Early Release/Spring Conferences

April 4 - 8 - Spring Break

Big picture

District Information

Big picture

The District is proposing a four-year replacement Capital Projects and Technology Levy on the February 8, 2022 ballot to replace an expiring levy. The proposed local school tax is expected to decrease from current levels. Levies require a simple majority for approval.


The Capital Projects and Technology (Cap/Tech) levy covers two areas:

• Facility improvements and updates that are beyond a general repair or regular maintenance but fall short of bond-level funding needs.
• Instructional technology and related staffing, professional development and technology infrastructure.


Approximately 50 percent of the funds is expected to be used for long-term facility needs, such as:
• New roof at Cedarhome Elementary;
• Replacement fire sprinkler lines at Utsalady and Elger Bay Elementary Schools;
• Portable maintenance at Port Susan, including new roofs, paint and siding repair;
• Upgraded public address systems at Stanwood Middle and Stanwood Elementary Schools;
• Various projects to improve student safety, such as fencing and sidewalks.

Approximately 50 percent of the funds is expected to upgrade technology used for student learning at all schools. Projects include:
• Replacing aging classroom computers, chromebooks and software licenses;
• Maintaining infrastructure that supports technology for student learning, for example, servers, wifi and network;
• Provide for staffing to maintain and operate district technology.

What has SCSD accomplished with local funds?

• Increased the number of computer labs, mobile labs and student-accessible technology at each school;
• Increased the curricular tools and online educational resources;
• Provided professional development and technical support to staff that impacts teaching and learning;
• Replaced fire alarm systems at Cedarhome, Twin City and Stanwood Elementary;
• Playground safety improvements at Cedarhome, Elger Bay and Utsalady Elementary;
• Renovation and roof replacement for the SHS Transition Program facility;
• Seismic upgrades for Stanwood Middle School.


Please remember to vote by February 8

Snohomish and Island Counties conduct all elections through mail-in ballots. The ballots for the February 8, 2022 election must be postmarked (mailing is free) or placed in a ballot drop site by 8 p.m. on Tuesday, February 8, 2022. Ballot drop boxes are located near the Stanwood Library, 9701 271st St. NW and on Camano Island at 121 N. East Camano Drive.

Big picture

Employee of the Month

Nominations for a Certificated or Classified Employee of the Month are accepted September through March for recognition at the building level with board, administration, and sponsor participation. One certificated and one classified employee are selected monthly from the nominations, coordinated by our program sponsor, Heritage Bank. All monthly award recipients will be considered for the Certificated and Classified Employee of the Year awards presented in May. Nominations are welcome from parents, community members, peers, administrators, and students.

Please let us know about some of the great deeds our staff are doing! Share personal examples of the dedication, commitment and passion these individuals have portrayed working for the Stanwood-Camano School District. Click on the link below to nominate an individual; give personal examples of why you believe this individual deserves recognition and share how they inspire others.

EMPLOYEE NOMINATION


Heritage Bank sponsors our employee recognition program in partnership with Stanwood and Camano Island area businesses.


Big picture

January Virtual Coffees with the Board

Please join the members of the School Board for a series of virtual coffee hours on January 10 and 11. This is a great opportunity for the community to engage in conversation with members of the Board in a casual setting.


Here is the schedule for the virtual coffee hours:

Monday, January 10, 9 a.m.: Directors Ken Christoferson and Al Schreiber

Zoom Link

Monday, January 10, 1 p.m.: Directors Natalie Hagglund and Charlotte Murry

Zoom Link

Tuesday, January 11, 6:30 p.m.: Directors Miranda Evans and Ken Christoferson

Zoom Link

Thank you for your support and communication!

Cherae Almanza, Principal


Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal


Our commitment

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.