The Seahawks Call

Week of September 28, 2020 Volume 4

Message from Principal Taylor re: Process for New Laptop Distribution

Superintendent Hill expressed at the beginning of the school year that all secondary students would receive a new laptop. High School students received their laptops and now all middle schools are anxiously waiting for our new laptops to be delivered. I know it is difficult to patiently wait for this technology device, but please know that every single one of our 1100+ students will receive a new laptop! Unfortunately, we do not have any idea when our shipment of new laptops will arrive or how many new laptops we will receive in that particular shipment. Due to these two uncertainties, you don't have to contact the school to ask when you will receive your laptop and you don't have to resubmit a request through AskCCPS!


I would like to explain the process for how new laptops will be distributed to minimize any confusion or negative feelings which may evolve due to playing the "waiting game."


1) The new laptops are initially delivered to Central Office.

2) Central Office verifies order shipment.

3) Central Offices divides new laptops (based on need) and delivers to schools.

4) Schools receive new laptops and Computer Analyst begins the configuring process for each laptop.

5) Computer Analyst informs principal configuration process has been completed and is ready to be issued to a student.

6) Parent will be contacted by school personnel or via email to schedule pick up arrangements.


I thank you in advance for your continued patience and understanding.

Tutoring Opportunities Available Next Month for Secondary Students

Parents of middle and high school students can request virtual tutoring sessions for assistance in English/language arts or math. Sessions are available in October and parents must apply online. The application is linked online here. Students may receive one hour of individual or small group virtual tutoring. Sessions will be scheduled between the hours of 3 to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday. CCPS is limiting approved students to no more than two sessions per week, per subject. Students must have an electronic device and internet access to participate. Sessions are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis and not all requests will be filled. Tutoring requests for elementary school students should be made by contacting the child’s school.

Message from our Librarian..................Returning Library Books

Still holding on to Somers Library books? Beginning next week, a Library Book Return box will be located just outside the Somers' front entrance. Please place library books in a bag and write your student's name and student ID number on the outside. Then stop by Somers and place the bagged books in the Library Book Return box. The box will be located outside the front entrance during school hours only.


Not sure if your student is still holding on to a Somers' library book? Email reminders will be sent out next week as well. Thank you!

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.