Seasonal Elder Call: Marshall Ganz

Story-Telling: Story of Self, Story of Us, Story of Now

Let the Obama Campaign's Story-Telling Advisor Advise You!

Marshall Ganz, Senior Lecturer in Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School, entered Harvard College in the fall of 1960. In 1964, a year before graduating, he left to volunteer as a civil rights organizer in Mississippi. In 1965, he joined Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers; over the next 16 years he gained experience in union, community, issue, and political organizing and became Director of Organizing. During the 1980s, he worked with grassroots groups to develop effective organizing programs, designing innovative voter mobilization strategies for local, state, and national electoral campaigns. In 1991, in order to deepen his intellectual understanding of his work, he returned to Harvard College and, after a 28-year "leave of absence," completed his undergraduate degree in history and government. He was awarded an MPA by the Kennedy School in 1993 and completed his PhD in sociology in 2000. He teaches, researches, and writes on leadership, organization, and strategy in social movements, civic associations, and politics. To read a great interview with him, please click here.


Tuesday, Dec. 4th 2012 at 10am

Skype

The call will take place at 10 a.m. EST, which is 7 a.m. PST, 3 p.m. Ghana, 5 p.m. Egypt, and 8.30 p.m. IST.


Please be available on Skype at least 10 minutes before the call to minimize technological troubles. I am planning on dialing Jay in on his mobile phone. If anyone else will be without Skype access, but would like to attend, please let me know. Jay, Marlene, Esa, Hilary, Dennis and Aimee have rsvp'd. If you have not rsvp'd, but would like to attend, please let me know in advance.


Please send me questions for Marshall beforehand.