Local News Update

M & M

Mitosis and Meiosis

Mitosis and Meiosis also have a part in the cell cycle. Mitosis is a continuous process, it is divided into four phases for ease of understanding. These phases are: prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase. Meiosis is used for sexual reproduction. It consists of two nuclear divisions(meiosis l and meiosis ll)and results in the production of haploid cells called gametes.
Big image

Prokaryotic and Eukaryotic

How they Divide

Prokaryotic cells(bacteria) don't have a nucleus. These cells divide by a process called binary fission. Mitosis is a process in which a eukaryotic cell(containing a nucleus) separates its duplicated chromosomes into two sets of chromosomes so there will be two identical nuclei.

By: Leticia Uresti 11/7/14