Bearcat Board Story

November 15, 2019

The school board of the Gasconade County R-I School District met Thursday, November 14th in both regular and executive sessions. Coaches Phil Landolt, Shelby Cooper, and Beth Weir along with the athletes and managers of the Hermann High School State Championship Volleyball team were recognized at the meeting for their winning season. The board also recognized Coaches Josh Morris, Dan Bader, and Keely Uthlaut and the Cross Country team for their outstanding competitiveness at the state meet. We are very proud of these Bearcats!

During the meeting.....

In regular session, the board was presented with information from the strategic plan needs

assessment by Dr. Dana Clippard of Ed Counsel. Since last month, Dr. Clippard and Dr. Jim Hinson, also of Ed Council, have completed the personal input sessions and are now reviewing a variety of data from the district. Dr. Clippard indicated the main themes from the input sessions. Next month there will be another presentation that will outline a Governance Plan and SMART Goals for the district. An outline of the major themes from the needs assessment can be found on the district website or by following this link.

Zachary Stobart and Chad Grannemann represented a group of community members regarding a request to implement a soccer program at Hermann High School. Mr. Stobart and Mr. Grannemann shared with the board of directors the groups’ perspective on adding soccer as an extra-curricular activity. The complete outline of the presentation can be found on the district’s website or by using this link. At this time, the community group has a total of $18,500 pledged from a variety of donors. If the board decides to pursue this proposal, these pledges would go towards the estimated $41,250 in start-up costs. Following the presentation, the board heard remarks from parents and students regarding the proposed program. The board took no action but will continue to discuss this proposal over the upcoming months.

The board accepted monthly reports from the administrators and departments. Dr. Smith presented the board with an update on the district's financial status. Dr. Smith informed the board that three seats currently held by Jeff Englert, Craig Schannuth, and Becky Whithaus will be up for election on the April 2020 ballot. Filing begins on December 17th and ends on January 21st. Several proposals were submitted by financial institutions regarding the district’s purchasing card needs. After reviewing all proposals, the top three institutions presented to a district committee. It was determined Central Bank of Jefferson City best meets the district’s needs. A recommendation to move forward using Central Bank as the purchasing card vendor was approved by the board of directors. Implementation of this will begin by the first of January.

The board considered policy updates from MSBA and approved two groups as first and second read. The board approved the consent agenda consisting of the monthly treasurer's reports and bills before moving to the executive session.

In closed session, the board accepted the resignation of Anne Worland, Middle School Title I and Gifted Teacher. The board approved the hire of Hayley Cochran, Personal Aide and John Bohl, Assistant Track Coach. The following were approved as substitute teachers: Ashley Morgan, Therese O'Brien, Charlotte Rohlfing, and Tess Schannuth.

The next regularly scheduled board meeting is December 12, 2019 at 6:00 pm at central office.