Welcome to Orange County

Located in Chapel Hill,NC.

Orange County History

Orange County is located in Chapel Hill, NC. Orange County is surrounded by 5 counties and they are: Person, Durham, Chatham, Alamance, and Caswell. Orange county was founded in 1752. Orange County got its name from William V of Orange. The county seat, Hillsborough was founded in 1754. Orange county is known for being the most liberal county in NC.

Want to be apart of Orange County Government?

Come on out to the next Board of Commissioners meeting! The government major duties are adopting an annual budget, establishing a property tax rate, appointing officials and representatives to advise the Boards and Commissions, planning for county needs, and enacting local ordinances. The Orange County Board of Commissioners consist of 7 members who are in office for a 4 year term. Frank Clifton is the current county manager.

What can you do in Orange County?

Want to learn about Hillsborough's government?

Hillsborough Government

Hillsborough is governed by a council-manager-mayor plan. The mayor of Hillsborough is Tom Stevens. There are 5 other members of the government, 4 commissioners and 1 mayor proTem. The board holds a meeting at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of each month. They meet at the Town Barn, located at 101 E. Orange St. on the town hall campus.