Barrington High School Library!

December 2020

Barrington High School Library - Virtual Learning at its Best! Coming Soon! SORA new EBook BHS Library Catalog!

BHS Library is an essential resource for our students and teachers providing online resources, community partnerships, information literacy and research instruction for all of our students! Need a resource or assistance - reach out to BHS Librarian Dr. Costa! At the BHS Library we are here to help!


Coming Soon! New SORA app to check-out popular ebooks & school required reading!

New BHS Library Website - Check It Out!

BHS Library offers a variety of resources to meet the reading and learning academic needs and personal interests of all of our students! To access these resources, stop by the new BHS Library website! New eBooks, online instructional video, and resources for student research and MLA lessons!


Click here to access the new Library website! and Happy Reading!

BHS Summer Reading Program! A Great Success!

Over 350 students successfully completed the BHS Summer Reading program and Summer Reading Pledge! The student feedback was very positive - students really enjoyed the Rhode Island Teen Book Award and Reading Across RI Book selections!


All students who successfully completed the BHS Summer Reading requirements received extra credit in the course of their choice for the 1st quarter!


Summer Reading Fun Facts:


Total number of students who participated - 361

Total number of students who received extra credit - 361


Most widely read title - They Called Us Enemy by George Takei

Second most popular title - The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas

Third most popular title - We Are Here To Stay by Susan Kuklin


Subject area chosen most for extra credit - Math

Second subject are chosen most for extra credit - Science

Thanks SO MUCH to BHS Parents' Association!! Check Out New BHS Books! Reading for the FUN OF IT!!

Reading is a way to relax and alleviate stress! Thanks so much to the Barrington High School Parents' Association for the Library Line-Item that supports our fiction collection at BHS Library!

BHS Library New Books!


Book recommendations are welcome! Please email Dr. Costa or stop by the Library with your suggestions!


Please remember during hybrid learning, email Dr. Costa to request a book and it will be delivered to you!

Don't Miss! BHS Library Book Give Away!

Big picture

BHS Library is making space for new books on our shelves and is giving away free books for you to keep, read, and enjoy!


Stop by the ENN Sunrise hallway between periods to see Ms. Hearn and help yourself to the free Library book Giveaway selections!

Lots more books coming soon!


For more information, email Librarian Dr. Costa costas@barringtonschools.org


Happy Reading!

Dr. Costa

Technology Resources of the Month @ BHS Library!

For all BHS online subscription databases - click here BHS on the Web!


For all RI Public Library subscription databases - click here for ASKRI.org

Dr. Costa Selected 2020-2021 Common Sense Media Ambassador!

The Ambassador Program is for innovative education leaders who are motivated to spread the word about the use of Common Sense Education resources in their classrooms, schools, and communities. Dr. Costa is the Barrington Public School Common Sense Media District Project Lead and teaches online safety, digital footprint, and digital citizenship at BHS!
Big picture

BHS Librarian Team Teaching with Ms. Siravo-Bazin Young Adult Literature Class @ BHS!

Don't Miss! Lunch Bunch Virtual Book Club with Dr. Costa and Ms. Siravo-Bazin!

November Virtual Book Club! Blood and Honey by Shelby Mahurin.

This is the second book in the Serpent & Dove series following up on Virtual Book Club Summer Selection and Rhode Island Teen Book Award winner Serpent and Dove!


The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And the romance is red-hot. The eagerly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Serpent & Dove is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and is an instant New York Times bestseller! - Amazon

BHS Library Teams Up with Senior Project! Attention Seniors! Senior Project Research Process Begins November 30th! Don't miss Dr. Costa's 6 Episode Video Series on Senior Project Research Process!

Big picture

BHS Library - Senior Project Research Templates, Resources, & Videos!


Episode 1: The Preliminary Research Process

Episode 2: Conducting Deep Research

Episode 3: Developing MLA Citation Format

Episode 4: Creating and Using In-Text & Parenthetical Citations

Episode 5: Formatting a Works Cited Page

Episode 6: Resource Validation Criteria & Defense

BHS Library Virtual Partner in December! Writer...Researcher...Educator Taylor Polites!

Welcome Taylor Polites! Writer...Researcher...Educator and Special Guest Zoom Speaker in Mrs. Pickford's Creative Writing Class & BHS Library Partner!At BHS Library we met Mr. Taylor Polites as one of the founders of the WriteRI!

BHS students in Mrs. Pickford's creative writing class have distinguished themselves in the Annual WriteRI! Fiction Writing Contest! Mr. Polities is the recipient of the 2018 RI Humanities Award, published author, and founder of Goat Hill an organization that supports writing and creativity through workshops, literary events and education.


Coming Soon! Taylor Polites as a special guest on ENN Sunrise!

Big picture
Big picture

Coming Soon! WRITE RI! Fiction Writing Competition Deadline - December 13th! For more information contact BHS Librarian Dr. Costa or Write RI!

Congratulations to BHS past winners of the Write RI Fiction Writing Competition!

Big picture

BHS Librarian Teams Up with ENN Sunrise Show to Bring Special Remote Guest! RI Department of Health Dr. McDonald Interview on BHS Sunrise Show!

In November the Library partnered with ENN Sunrise Show to bring RI Department of Health Dr McDonald, MD MPH to help our students learn more about staying safe during these COVID times. Thank you Dr. McDonald and the ENN Sunrise Team!

For more information and to see the interview, go to https://www.ennsunrise.com/

Big picture
Big picture

Happy Library Memories! 2019-2020 Book Club!

Big picture
Big picture