U.S History

Category A

Nobel Peace Prize Winners

Theodore Roosevelt

In 1906 Theodore Roosevelt won the Nobel Peace Prize for his work in the negotiations that led to the Treaty of Portsmouth ending the Russo-Japanese War in 1905. This made him the first American to ever win the Nobel Peace Prize in any type of category.

Woodrow Wilson

In 1919 Woodrow Wilson won the Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to end World War I and create the League of Nations. He wanted to get rid of the unspeakable horror of the war.

Jane Addams

In 1931 Jane Addams won the Nobel Peace Prize for becoming know as the "mother" of modern social work. She was the first American woman to win this award.

Emily Greene Balch

In 1946 Emily Greene Balch won the Nobel Peace Prize for her work with the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom.

Martin Luther King Jr.

In 1964 Martin Luther King Jr. recieved the Nobel Peace prize for his resistance to racial prejudice in America, and "for the furtherance of brotherhood among men and to the abolishment or reduction of standing armies and for the extension of these purposes."

Al Gore

In 2007 Al Gore recieved the Nobel Peace Prize "for his efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change."

Barack Obama

In 2009 Barack Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples".