The Raven Flyer

January 4, 2016

Big image

Children First, Always...The Bryan Way!


It's a Raven Thing!

Be the One ! Committed to Excellence!

C2E


Bryan ISD will provide positive educational experiences that ensure high school graduation and post-secondary success.


The Standards Based Teacher...

  • Follows BISD Curriculum

  • Monitors Student Mastery

  • Engages Learners

  • Provides SE-Based Environment

  • Uses Aligned Assessments

  • Delivers Aligned Instruction

  • Plans Aligned Units


As you plan, use these additional questions to guide your planning:

  1. What do we want students to learn?

  2. How will we know that they have learned it?

  3. How will we plan and deliver quality instruction so that students are likely to learn it the first time?

  4. How will we respond when students have already learned it?

  5. How will we respond when some students have not learned it?


Note------ Please review the revised Grading Guidelines.

http://www.bryanisd.org/Curriculum/GradingGuidelinesRevisedAugust2015.pdf


WOW PD-January 4, 2016 at Bonham Elementary(Attached below-More details can be found in a copy of the email sent before we left for Christmas)

We are looking forward to everyone learning more about WOW.

You have been asked to bring a piece of student work from your class to be used during the training. The day will be 8-4 with a 1.5 hour lunch break.


Self-Directed Learning Walks

You are strongly encouraged to visit other classrooms in the school to learn and collaborate. It's even better to go in pairs to facilitate a discussion about what you see during your visit. If you choose to visit a classroom during your conference time, etc. and stay in the classroom for at least 10 minutes, you can mark the teacher's Bingo card.


A few housekeeping items...


  • Be in the cafe by 7:25 for Friday Morning Meeting to greet and manage students. Shake their hands, smile at them.
  • Move all lesson plans into your personal planner. This is a requirement.
  • If you plan math, you are encouraged to take advantage of the math collaborative planning sessions.


PDAS Appraisal Window-Action Required

  • If you would like to schedule a pre-conference, please schedule through Karen Morgan.


  • If there is any time during the 2 week window that your schedule would not be conducive to a 45 minute appraisal, please make your appraiser aware.


  • During your 2 week window, leave a folder on your desk with a seating chart, lesson plans, and any other pertinent information you’d like for us to have or know.


Student Management

Conscious Discipline sessions for new teachers will not meet in December.


CKH and Conscious Discipline

Teacher-“My job is to keep you safe!”

Student- “My job is to help keep it that way!


Evidence of Capturing Kids Hearts

  • N/A (This teacher has not yet been to CKH training.)

  • Social Contract is posted, visible, and written in the correct format. (implemented 100% at Houston) Refreshing your social contracts might be in order!

  • Non-verbal signals are used by the teacher when appropriate.

  • Students are responding to non-verbal signs by the teacher.

  • Teacher refers to the social contract (when processing conflict & violations).

  • Teacher is meeting/greeting students with a handshake as they arrive.

  • Good things and/or launches are being used.

  • Affirmations are a part of the classroom environment.

  • The 4 questions are being used appropriately. (What are you doing? Supposed to be doing? Are you doing it? What are you going to do about it?)

  • Students are self-managing with non-verbal signs.


Dress Code

Classroom teachers are the first line of defense!

Are you setting a good example?

Please send students to the office by 8:15 am if out of dress code.


I Can Statements

Content objectives should be displayed in student friendly language (I can) on board, chart or wall and be visible to the student. The content being taught should match a posted I can statement. Language objectives should begin with I will and be aligned to the instruction.


Duty

Being on time for duty is critical to the safety of our children! Grades 1 and 3 have front drive duty this week. When on duty in the front, please supervise the safety patrol and fill in where necessary.



See Houston Faculty Calendar for DATES TO REMEMBER and UPCOMING MEETINGS… See personal calendars for ARD’s and 504’s.

Please refer to the Houston Faculty calendar and your personal calendar daily/weekly as a reference!
Big image

Affirmations and Birthdays!

Happy Birthday...

1/4-HB, Lesa Hees!


Care and Concern:

Rev.Miles will be out this week recuperating at home until he is feeling better.

Sheila Whisenant's husband had surgery over the break is still in the hospital at this time.



A shout out goes to:

Maegan Bearden and Kerri Rothell for getting us organized for our January 4 PD.





Always want to know if someone deserves an affirmation...Send them my way and I'll include them in the weekly message.

Jan. 4-WOW

Hope you had a great break! Just a reminder about Monday. This email was sent out before Christmas to those involved in WOW training. Please let me know if you are uncertain about where you should be on Monday. See you soon...hh
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Maegan Bearden <maegan.bearden@bryanisd.org>
Date: Friday, December 18, 2015
Subject: WOW- January 4th
To: Lesa Hees <lesa.hees@bryanisd.org>, Kyndall Stotts <kyndall.stotts@bryanisd.org>, Holly Havemann <Holly.havemann@bryanisd.org>, Rhonda Elam <rhonda.elam@bryanisd.org>, Kerri Rothell <kerri.rothell@bryanisd.org>, Carmon Latterman <carmon.latterman@bryanisd.org>, Jennifer Albers <jennifer.albers@bryanisd.org>, Dawn Bell <dawn.bell@bryanisd.org>, Julie Bockelmann <julie.bockelmann@bryanisd.org>, Cathleen Carney <cathleen.carney@bryanisd.org>, Nancy Chapman <nancy.chapman@bryanisd.org>, Nicole Engstrom <nicole.engstrom@bryanisd.org>, Shannon Friedel <shannon.friedel@bryanisd.org>, Robyn Glass <robyn.glass@bryanisd.org>, Sabina Jackson <sabina.jackson@bryanisd.org>, Kimberly Kubesch <kimberly.kubesch@bryanisd.org>, Amanda May <amanda.may@bryanisd.org>, Veronica McCulloch <veronica.mcculloch@bryanisd.org>, Jennifer Morton <jennifer.morton@bryanisd.org>, Meredith Sellers <meredith.sellers@bryanisd.org>, Carrie Thigpin <carrie.thigpin@bryanisd.org>, Fran Wagner <fran.wagner@bryanisd.org>, Karen Yancey <karen.yancey@bryanisd.org>, Gay Yglecias <gay.yglecias@bryanisd.org>, Chelsi Young <chelsi.young@bryanisd.org>

Here are some details!

  • It will be held at Bonham Elementary Cafeteria from 8-4 on the 4th.
  • Please bring with you a student example of work. It can be anything that a student has created in your classroom.
  • Dress in comfy work out clothes or sweats as we are "Working on the Work!"
  • A light breakfast will be provided that morning.
  • Lunch will be 1 hour and 30 minutes on your own.

* Just FYI- All assistants will be on campus at Houston from 8-4 on Monday. They will receive a separate Eduphoria invite.


Thank you! We are looking forward to WOW in January!


K&M