Fall School Newsletter

8th grade Otto Middle School

Halfway Point

The Otto Middle School 8th grade team would like to thank all students and parents who make a strong effort in making, not only consistent attendance to school, but also for the efforts of the students that consistently get to class on time. We have been doing a great job and we want to keep it up!

Upcoming Dates

Three Ways to a Growth Mindset

2nd Six Weeks at a Glance

English

The Characters Inside Out unit is designed to provide students with multiple lenses through which they can study characters and character development in fictional texts. In addition to learning the language informed readers use when discussing characters, students will study the ways in which characters are both derived from real-life people and the impact that characters can have on readers’ real-life experiences.

As they discuss short stories, poetry, and novels in class, students will focus on characterization techniques, character strengths and weaknesses, and character effects on the story and on other characters.

Throughout the unit, students will be completing character quick writes that will serve as the foundation for their culminating assessment project (CAP).

Language study work in this unit uses mentor sentences to notice and imitate techniques in order to better understand subject/verb agreement, complete sentences, the uses of phrases and clauses, and techniques for punctuating phrases and clauses. Students will be asked to revisit the grammar lists they learned in 6th and 7th grades to assist them with this process.



Rita Attuquayefio

469-752-8586

Rita.Attuquayefio@pisd.edu


Courtney Langdon

469-752-8579

Courtney.Langdon@pisd.edu


Sarah Anderson

469-752-8555

Sarah.Anderson@pisd.edu


Erin Kerry

469-752-8560

erin.kerry@pisd.edu


Stephanie Parker

469-752-8530

Stephanie.Parker@pisd.edu

Math

Honors Algebra :

Students will write and identify linear equations in three forms, slope-intercept form, point-slope form, and standard form. Students will transform and compare the properties of linear equations on a graph, in a table, and equation.

Math Rocks 8:

Students will determine the properties of congruent triangles and prove congruence through three types of proofs: two-column, flow chart and paragraph proofs. Students will extend their knowledge of triangles and apply properties of segments in triangles.



In Math 8, we are learning about transformations. Students discover that shapes are congruent when rotated, translated, or reflected and shapes are similar when dilated. Students will also learn to write algebraic representation for each transformation.


Rosie Coleman

46-752-8582

Rosie.Coleman@pisd.edu


Kaci McDaniel

469-752-8578

Kaci.McDaniel@pisd.edu


Bonny Pan

469-752-8572

Bonny.Pan@pisd.edu


Caresir Gonzales

469-752-8597

caresir.gonzales@pisd.edu


Elizabeth Jacobsen

469-752-8591

elizabeth.jacobsen@pisd.edu

Science

We have explored luminosity, absolute magnitude and temperature of stars on the Hertzsprung-Russell Diagram. Understanding that gravity is the force that is responsible for the motion of objects in the Universe will lead us to the phases of the moon and tides. Our solar system unit finishes with the tilt of the Earth and our seasons.


Torrey Gragg

469-752-8583

Torrey.Gragg@pisd.edu


MaryAnn Cowley

469-752-8584

MaryAnn.Cowley@pisd.edu


Elizabeth Jacobsen

469-752-8591

Elizabeth.Jacobsen@pisd.edu

HISTORY/PACE

8th grade PACE is studying the American Revolution over the course of the 2nd Six Weeks. The highlight of this unit is the students assuming the identity of a colonist and then decide if they will be a Loyalist, Patriot or Neutralist. We then hold the Stamp Act Congress as well as the 1st and 2nd Continental Congresses where we, in “character,” debate many of the same issues that the delegates would have debated.


8th grade US History begins with an experiential exercise of the economic and political causes of the revolution. Throughout the unit the significant individuals of the revolutionary era are highlighted to show their contributions to the revolutionary war. Critical thinking skills are emphasized as the students analyze and interpret the Declaration of Independence and practice the skills of problem solving, drawing conclusions and making inferences. Major battles are presented for the students to better understand the perseverance and self-determination the colonist exhibited to defeat the British.



Rob Keahey

469-752-8575

Rob.Keahey@pisd.edu


Brent Truitt

469-752-8576

Brent.Truitt@pisd.edu


Zeshan Khan

469-752-8577

Zeshan.Khan@pisd.edu