Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

What are Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs?

A theory in psychology focusing on the basic needs of life. These needs are often seen n a pyramid where the bottom layer represents the most important needs going to the top, being the least important.
Big image

First Level : Biological & Physiological

  • Air
  • Shelter
  • Food & Drink
  • Warmth
  • Sleep
  • Sex

Second Level : Safety

  • Protection from elements
  • Security
  • Order
  • Law
  • Stability
  • Freedom from fear

Third Level : Love & Belonging

"If you seek to be loved you may be disapointed because you can't control others."

Fourth Level : Esteem

Love & respect you get from others

Fifth Level : Self Actualization

Refers to the need for personal growth & discovery