Uinta County School District #1

October 2018-Newsletter, Vol. 32

Big picture

Keeping our Focus: The Fundamental Purpose of Our Organization is Learning

You are making a difference in the lives of your students every day. Thank you for the commitment of time and effort you put into positively impacting your students’ lives. Our commitment to you is that we will stay the course. Our collaborative work to create high reliability schools will benefit our students today and in the future.

What does that commitment mean for you as a teacher? It means that we will continue our push to academic excellence through the belief that ALL students can learn at high levels. Together, we will continue to learn how to increase our effectiveness as a professional learning community; as a district, a school, and a content or grade-level team. We will continue to develop ways to make our schools as safe, supportive, and orderly as possible, and collect evidence to monitor our progress. We will continue to hone our skills as teachers by digging into our evaluation system and supporting our existing instructional strategies with new strategies, often from the New Art and Science of Teaching by Robert Marzano. And, lastly, we will continue our collaborative work on curriculum because, second to the effectiveness of the classroom teacher, it has the greatest impact on improving student achievement.

We are all learners working in a learning organization. As such we don’t always have the answers to our questions or those posed to us by students, parents, or community members. I encourage you to seek those answers from those most knowledgeable and closest to the situation. For example, if you or someone you know has a question about the draft EHS schedule, please contact Mr. Lester at EHS. If you have a question about how something is funded, please contact Mr. Thomas, Dr. Ingalls or Mr. Rigby. If we don’t know the answer, we will get it and get back to you or whomever asked the question. The point is, we are doing some great things in our district and we should be very proud of our work. Certainly, there are areas we need to improve. By being reflective practitioners we can examine and amend, where necessary, policies and practices that do not support our vision of learning for all. The positive collaborative effort by all staff to ensure high levels of learning for all students will ultimately make our organization truly remarkable.

Thank you for your contribution to our success!





Thursday, Nov. 1st, 7pm

537 10th Street

Evanston, WY

Uinta County School District #1, in partnership with the Evanston Education Association (EEA) will be conducting a school board candidate forum for the community. The forum has been scheduled for Thursday, November 1, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. in the Education Service Center located at 537 Tenth Street (Boardroom). The forum will be streamed live and recorded for community members that cannot attend in person. Each candidate will have time for a short opening and closing statement. Questions will be collected from school district employees and the community. Questions will be asked by a moderator, and each candidate will be asked to respond to the questions. There will be no live interaction between the audience and the candidates. The forum is scheduled to last ninety minutes.



29th-Cara McDaniel

30th-Ellen Pilch

31st-Adrienne Unertl


1st-Joseph Floyd

2nd-Michelle Biddulph

3rd-August Nelson

4th-Derek Haider, Susan Tethal, Alicia Jenkins, Morgan Heaps, Larry Wagstaff


UCSD#1 Administration

Ryan Thomas, Superintendent Ext.1020

Cheri Dunford, Supt., Board Exec. Assistant Ext. 1021

Dr. Joseph Ingalls, Assistant Superintendent K-5 Ext. 1026

Doug Rigby, Assistant Superintendent 6-12 Ext. 1025

Alicia Johnson, Instructional Services Admin. Asst. Ext. 1024

Kristine Hayduk, Human Resources Ext. 1023

Matt Williams, SPED Director Ext. 1040

Diana Olson, SPED Admin. Asst. Ext. 1041

Bubba O'Neill, Activities Director Ext. 1060

Dauna Bruce, Activities Admin. Asst. Ext. 1061

John Williams, Business Director, Ext. 1030

Jaraun Dennis, Facilities Director, Ext. 1075