Middle School News - December 18th

Go Wildcats!

Message from Ms. Roletto

Does your child know how to ask for help when they need it?


We will be working hard to work on encouraging kids to reach out when they have questions.


  • They can email their teacher
  • They can message
  • They can come to Welcome1 Room starting from 9:15am where Ms. Suzy, Ms. Roletto or Ms. Howard can help.


Everyone have a great break!

Big picture

Class Meetings

Ms. Roletto would like to start monthly meetings for each grade level cohort of students.

We will meet Tuesday mornings at 9:30am - ten minutes earlier than class starts.


A calendar invitation will be sent out to students through their email and will pop up on their google calendar.


This is a chance for students to meet as a class and for Ms. Roletto to check-in, talk about extra activities and answer questions about things going on at school. Getting student feedback is important.


SCHEDULE


January

6th Grade Class Meeting - Jan 12th

7th Grade Class Meeting - Jan 19th

8th Grade Class Meeting - Jan 26th

MS "Lunch Hangout Times"

Opportunities to connect w/ others and counselor:


Ms. Howard office hours: CODE: howardoffice - Fridays 9:40-10:20


6th drop-in Lunch Group - CODE: 6lunch - Mondays 12:30 - 1pm

7th/8th drop-in Lunch Group - CODE: 78lunch - Tues 12:30 - 1pm

Student Council – CODE: bridgerstudentcouncil – Fri 1:10–1:55pm

QSA Group – Email Ms. Howard for code - Fridays 2-2:30pm


Ms. Howard can be reached at 971-378-0470 or rhoward@pps.net



Counselor Website: https://sites.google.com/pps.net/bridger-k-8-counseling/home

Big picture

Midterms Progress Reports

You should be receiving midterm progress reports this week.

It was great to see improvement as we keep trying to meet the needs of students, keep learning about the technology and make more connections with families.


Grades are A,B,C or NG (No Grade)


NG means:


  • Your student is coming to class (large or small group), but not showing enough work or participation to determine if they are proficient yet.
  • Your student isn't coming to class and/or not doing classwork or participating.



If you have questions about the grade your child received, please contact your child's teacher.

If you did not receive a progress report, please contact Ms. Roletto at groletto@pps.net




Kathleen Redmond-Davenport

6th, 7th, 8th Science and 6th Gr Study skills

kredmond@pps.net



Karina Ehret

6th, 7th Math

kehret@pps.net



Hannah Maurer

6th Grade Social Studies/6th, 7th, and 8th Grade Spanish Language Arts/7th and 8th Grade Health

hmaurer@pps.net



Susan Anglada Bartley

7th and 8th Grade Language Arts

sbartley@pps.net



Haukur Astvaldsson

6th, 7th, and 8th Grade Social Studies/6th Grade Language Arts

hastvaldsson@pps.net



Liz Maier

6th Science, 6,7,8 Social Studies

emaier@pps.net



Kristina Brinton-Anderson

6th Grade Language Arts/6th, 7th, and 8th Grade Spanish

kbrintonanderso@pps.net



Arick Basques

7th & 8th Grade Math/Science & Gardening

abasques@pps.net




Megan Archer

Art Teacher

marcher@pps.net



Kevin Muir

ESL Teacher

kmuir@pps.net



Matt McMaster

PE Teacher

mmcmaster@pps.net



Yishan Chen

PE Teacher

ychen1@pps.net

Big picture

Google Meet Codes and Office Hour Codes

Most Middle School Office Hours will happen on Friday from 9:40 - 10:25am

Link to class and office hour codes: MS Google Meet Class Codes (updated)

Student Emails and Google Calendar

The middle school team will also expecting students to be checking their student email regularly.

  • Mr. Roletto will be sending information about activities throughout the year
  • Teachers will confirm appointments with students


It's a skill they will need to have when they get to high school and expected to use.


Also it will be important for students to use their email because we WANT to text students, but we aren't able to use REMIND messaging directly with students as some parents have asked because their is an age requirement that most of our students don't meet.

8th Grade High School Info - website

8th grade families -


I hope several of you had a chance to make it to the virtual info night. If not, you can go to the website for 8th grade information.


https://www.pps.net/8thgradeinfo


Window is open for transfer requests, especially for Jefferson HS and Benson HS

Organization tip for students - WATCH

Here is a way to organize the links and documents you want accessible right away when you start your day. Helps save time and you don't have to remember how to search for things.


Video link: Ms. Roletto's organization tip

This last Monday was bring your pet/animal to class day!

Big picture
Big picture