By Megan Nevlud from Mrs. Pearson's 1st Period class


Christianity is a monotheism religion. People that belong to Christianity are called Christians. There are many sects of Christianity, including Roman Catholics, Orthodox, Protestant, and other minor groups. All religions have there own beliefs, but all Christians believe in the Holy Trinity. The Holy Trinity is God in three people: God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Christians also have two sacraments they all celebrate: Baptism and Communion. Baptism is the welcoming into Christianity. Communion is the receiving of the Holy Eucharist: the Body and Blood of Christ. These sacraments are received in a Church (usually on Sundays or other Holy Days). The Church services are lead by Ministers (sometimes known by other names such as Priests, Pastors, etc.). Christians read and study the Holy Bible, a book filled with scriptures, readings, and stories. The Bible is separated in to parts: the Old Testament and the New Testament. Christians usually read the Bible on Holy Days, such as Christmas, Good Friday, and Easter. Christmas is a day of celebration for Jesus' birth. No one knows the exact date, but we celebrate his birthday on the 25th of December. Good Friday is a day of Remembrance of the day Jesus died on the Cross. Easter is celebrated three days after Good Friday. This Holy Day is to celebrate when Jesus rose from the dead to be seated on the right hand of the Father (God). The two Holy Cities of Christianity are Bethlehem and Jerusalem. Bethlehem is very important to Christians because it is the birthplace of Jesus. Jerusalem is also an important city because it is where Jesus died on the Cross. Christians believe there is only one God, or monotheism. Like Judaism and Islam, Abraham is a common figure to Christianity because he was very close to God.