5 Pillars of Islam

By: Savannah Edmisten

Pillar One~ Shahadah

Shahadah is the declaration of faith and that their is no other deity except God and Muhammad is the messenger of God. People converting to Islam have to make this declaration of faith as an entry into Islam.

Pillar Two~ Salat

Before prating Muslims have to wash their hands, nose, mouth, face, feet and arms. Islam requires it's followers to pray five times a day: At dawn, noon, later afternoon, sunset, and night. They are supposed to pray in a clean location such as a mosque. Muslims face towards the direction of Mecca when they pray.

Pillar Three~ Zakat

Muslims are required to donate to the poor and needy. They have to donate at least 2.5 percent of their yearly earnings. The Qur'an mention Zakat 82 times.

Pillar Four~ Sawm

The fourth pillar of Islam is fasting. This means that Muslims cannot eat food or drink water after sunrise to sunset at the time of Ramadan. This happens in the ninth month of the lunar calendar. Muslims do this to share the sufferings of the poor.

PIllar Five~ Hajj

At least once in their lifetimes, Muslims are required to make a pilgrimage to Mecca. 3 million Muslims make this trip yearly. They travel to Mecca because the, Ka'bah, which was the first house of worship, was built their.