Port Susan Middle

Student & Family Update 09.25.22

*Curriculum Night*

Save the date! We will hold a curriculum night for parents/guardians on Wednesday, September 28th. Our doors will open to pick up student schedules between 5 and 5:25 p.m. in the foyer. Then families will follow their child's schedule to hear about the curriculum used for their classes and how they can support the partnership at home.


5 p.m. – 5:25 p.m. pick up schedules/maps

1st 5:30-5:40

2nd 5:44-5:54

3rd 5:58-6:08

4th 6:12-6:22

5th 6:26-6:36

6th 6:40-6:50

Stations in the gym for Health/Computers/PE


Students are welcome, but do not need to attend (optional). If they have more than one student, they can talk with their students about what classes to go to and then email the remaining teachers to get a recap of what was covered. We look forward to working with families this school year!

Big picture

Advisory/Social Emotional Lesson

This week we continued our message around kindness and it's impact on the culture of our school. Reminders were given to all students regarding how we treat one another as well as the benefits for everyone when we make positive choices with our behaviors. This includes following classroom expectations, our choice of words when communicating to others, the way we behave in hallways between classes, as well as what we choose to display or be a part of on social media. Please continue these conversations at home with your student and always reach out if you have any questions or concerns.
Big picture
Big picture

Tier 1 Strategies

Our staff has focused on strategies that are beneficial for ALL students in the classroom (Tier 1 strategies) to begin this school year. As families join us this week, an example that you'll see is what is posted in classrooms throughout the building. An example of this work is pictured below as you can see the whiteboards including a daily or weekly schedule, as well as well planned learning activities for students. A few Tier 1 strategy examples are:

  • Provide daily warm-ups or bell-ringer activities for immediate student engagement.
  • Post and adhere to a daily or weekly schedule incorporating transitional times.
  • Notify students of any schedule changes in advance.
  • Eliminate disruptions between lessons or activities through careful planning and preparation.
  • Reduce the amount of downtime between activities.
Big picture

Homework Folders

We encourage students to use the royal blue homework folders as an organizational tool for at home assignments or in class assignments that need to be finished. Please remind your student to share what they have in their folder and/or talk with them about how they are organizing their work.
Big picture

Sporting Events!

It was so fun to see our girls soccer team out on the field this week. They were so supportive of one another and having a great time!

Season 2 (Part 1): Boys Basketball

Boys Basketball will be the first part of season two. Practices will begin on October 19. You can sign up on-line following the link, or by getting a packet from the office. Girls Volleyball, the second part of season 2 will start on November 30th.
Big picture
Boys Basketball Sign Ups

Click HERE to sign up

Parent Communication & Skyward

As we are almost at the midpoint of our first quarter together, teachers have been sending home emails to parents regarding support for their student around expectations as needed. The partnership with families is always important and I encourage parents to reach out with questions as they come up as well (teacher emails listed at the bottom of this update).


A reminder that Skyward is a great tool to check grades weekly for students and parents. Not only is this available through the online website, but there is also a Skyward App available for all phones. If you go to your App store and search "Skyward", it can be downloaded onto your phone for quick access. If you need your parent username/password, please reach out to our office at 360.629.1360

Knights Gear!!

Knights Gear!! Port Susan Middle School PTO has put together an opportunity for families to purchase some school attire. Please use the link below to get a shirt, sweatshirt, or other apparel.

https://fancloth.shop/UX4RZ

Big picture

Operation School Bell

Dear Families,

Our school district is fortunate to have access to Operation School Bell ®, a program offered by

the Assitance Leagues of Everett ® for students who are in need of new clothes. To qualify for

assistance, a child must be enrolled full time and qualify for the free or reduced lunch program.

The process only takes a few minutes to get started and involves basic information.

In order to participate in this program, it is important that you complete the necessary forms for

EACH child. You can make a copy of the form if you need more, or you can reach out to your

child’s school and request additional copies.

There are options this year for how you would like to receive your clothing. You can choose to

have a volunteer shop for you child and a bag of clothing will be delivered to your child’s school

OR there will be a designated day (undetermined at this time) where your child, with your

permission, will travel with district staff to the facility in Everett to shop for their own clothing

items.

This program is for all SCSD students in preschool through 8 th grade. High school students

participate in a portion of Operation School Bell called “Teen Retail.” Please contact Azra

Grudic, Student Support Advocate, if you have a HS student in need of clothing:

agrudic@stanwood.wednet.edu

Please note that each child can only attend Operation School Bell ® ONCE each school year

(through either the Stanwood-Camano School District or another program such as ECEAP).

To participate in Operation School Bell® your student can pick up a packet from the front office

staff at any time, or you can contact Amy Hart, Student Support Advocate to get the paperwork:

ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu or 360-965-8249.

Thank you,


Amy Hart

Student Support Advocate

Stanwood-Camano School District

Week of 09/26 through 09/30

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Social/Emotional Advisory Lesson (Crysty & Cherae)


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory

Soccer @ Cascade


Wednesday:

Late Start Schedule

Curriculum Night 5-7pm


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory

Soccer @ Anacortes


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory

XC @ Stanwood HS


Future Dates

October 13th: Donuts w/Grown-Ups (PTO event) 6:45-7:30 a.m.

October 21st: Teacher in-service (No School)

October 28th: Picture Retakes

October 31st: Spirit day/Dance (TBA)

November 2-4: Fall Conferences (No late start/early release)

November 4: Last day of Quarter 1


Student Calendar HERE


Linked below are previous communications. Please continue to reach out with any questions you have. You can email me directly (calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu) or call our office at 360.629.1360

August 21st

August 28th

September 4th

September 11th

September 18th

District Information

Middle School Lunch Menus/Information

Click HERE for Food Service

Thank you!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tamara Pedersen (6-7 Math) tpedersen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Stunz (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) lstunz@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Jeffrey Trammell jtrammell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joshua Keaton (7/8 History) jkeaton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6 Social Studies) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Selena Wyman (guest teacher for Seth Hills) swyman@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History & ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Amy Hart (Student Support Advocate) ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu

Taylor Little (Mental Health Therapist) tlittle@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.