Trix Family News

Week of March 21, 2022

Big picture
Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (10 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 3)

Good evening Trix Families,


Welcome to Spring!! We finally get to say goodbye to Winter and head feet first into Spring!!!!


The weather is getting warmer and with the change in weather, we have to make sure we continue to work together to monitor scholar behavior. This is the time of year scholars become little antsy. So I am excited Spring Break is just a week away and they get to have time off to relax and enjoy the weather.

Spring Break runs from March 28th - April. 1st. Scholars RETURN on April. 4th!


Attendance last week was great and we still have an average of 82%. Let's work together to ensure our children are in attendance all week prior to break!


Interim Assessments begin this week for ELA and Math. This is an awesome opportunity for us to gather data on how much growth scholars have made and how prepared they are for our upcoming Spring Assessment Season.


Let's finish the week strong and have a great Spring Break!!


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

Intent to Return Competition! Due March 31st!!

A little over 60% of Intent to return forms have been submitted!!! So far our 1st, 2nd, 4th, 5th and 6th grades for next fall are filling fast. Be proactive and get your forms completed ASAP!!

Big picture
Big picture

Face Mask Survey

Families please complete by Wednesday, March 23, 2022. Thanks families!!

Reading Month Tips

Big picture

Reading Month Spirit Week Recap!!

Thanks to everyone who participated!

Stories Online

Storyline Online is available 24 hours a day for children, parents, caregivers and educators worldwide. Each book includes supplemental curriculum developed by a credentialed elementary educator, aiming to strengthen comprehension and verbal and written skills for English-language learners.

Fun in Mrs. Nelson's Kindergarten Class!

82% Average Daily Attendance the week of March 14th - March 18th! Goal 95%

Attendance Matters!! Let's Continue to Work Together!

It is important for scholars to be in attendance daily! Continue to work with the school and your scholars teachers to ensure they have a great Quarter 3!!
Big picture

Climate and Culture

Big picture
Big picture

Spring Break March 28th - April 1st

Scholars Return Monday, April. 4th!

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Dates to Remember



March 21 - 22 - Interim Assessments (ELA)

March 23 - 24 - Interim Assessment (Math)

March 30th Intent to Return Final Deadline

March 28th - April 1st Spring Break No School (Building will be Closed)


April 4th - School Resumes

April 8th - Quarter 3 Ends

April 11th - Quarter 4 Begins

April ... - PTConferences

April 15th - Good Friday No School

April 18th - School Resumes

WHAT ARE YOU DOING THIS SUMMER!!!

SUMMER ADVANTAGE 2022

It is never too early to be prepared!


Please click on link to see the Summer Advantage opportunity here at Trix Academy this Summer 2022.

(SPACE IS LIMITED SO SIGN UP TODAY!!)

Big picture

Summer Advantage Registration


Or call the Summer Advantage Team at 1-866-924-7226 from 8am-6pm Monday - Friday

Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available
Big picture
Big picture


Detroit At Work Scholarship Program


Detroit at Work has five scholarship programs designed to give Detroiters access to greater opportunity, better careers and higher earning power.

Fill out the FORM and choose all programs you're interested in.

If you're interested in a finding a job, call us at 313-962-9675! Detroit at Work is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Emerging Industries Training Institute:


Emerging Industries Training Institute (EITI) is Detroit’s premier vocational school. We are the only employer led training facility in the City of Detroit. We pride ourselves in offering employment opportunities for our graduates, offering classes year round. EITI has the success of our students at the forefront of everything we do…we are in the business of changing lives for the better…starting with yours!


Since 2009, EITI has placed over 2,200 graduates into viable careers. With a placement rate of over 90% and consistently retaining over 88% of our students, EITI works closely with participating employers to ensure our graduates receive the best employment experience possible.


Local Food Pantry:

New Covenant of Peace

13560 E. McNichols
Detroit, MI - 48205

Phone: (313) 526-4000
tonynewcop@yahoo.com

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Dwight Walls, Teacher - d.walls@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.