Why are there five dwarf planets?

Madison S.

What is a Dwarf Planet?

Dwarf Planets are planets with a different orbit around the sun, which means they are dwarf planets. I selected this topic because I found a book that wrote on the cover of the book, that there are 13 dwarf planets, their names are Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake, and Eris.

Why are there dwarf planets?

Hidden deep inside the asteroid belt, Ceres takes 4.6 Earth years to make a full orbit around the sun. Pluto travels in a egg-shape orbit around the sun, sometimes crossing inside Neptune’s orbit. Haumea is big across Pluto but it is shaped like a egg shape. Spinning once every 4 years, Haumea is probably the result of an earlier collision that left this oblong shape behind and started its unusually rapid orbit. Makemake takes 365 days to orbit the sun. Eris is the coldest and most distant dwarf planet in our solar system round. With its moons Pysnomia, Eris passes through the kipper bet and continues ten million miles (16 Million miles) beyond it. So there are different facts about different tipys of dwarf planets.

Do you like my reaserch?

The most interesting fact I learned was that there are five dwarf planets. Something that surprised me was that there are 13 planets in our solar system. Something I would still like to learn is why do Dwarf Planets orbit around the sun differently than we do?

The Dwarf Planets

Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake, and Eris


Aguilar, David (2011)

13 Planets

National geographic, Society