Hawk Talk

December 09, 2021 - Issue 16

Big picture

STEAM SHOWCASE

You are invited to join us for the Steam Showcase on December 10th, Friday from 3:15 to 5:00 p.m. If you plan to attend the event please make parking arrangements accordingly.

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Free Pfizer Vaccination Clinic Saturday, Dec. 11th

Harmony Public Schools is proud to partner with the Travis County Mobile Vaccine Collaborative to host a district-wide and completely free Pfizer Vaccination Clinic at Harmony School of Innovation (2124 E St Elmo Rd, Austin, TX 78744) from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm on Saturday, December 11th. Ascension Seton nurses will be in the school's cafeteria administering the Pfizer vaccine to children 5-17 years of age (parent must be present) and adults looking to get booster shots. No pre-registration is required. No health insurance is required. Remember, the CDC approve for adult booster shots to be mixed and matched, meaning if your initial doses were Moderna, you can get your booster shot with Pfizer.


Hope to see y'all there!


Harmony Public Schools se enorgullecen de asociarse con la Colaboración Móvil de Vacunas del Condado de Travis para albergar una Clínica de Vacunación Pfizer completamente gratuita en todo el distrito en Harmony School of Innovation (2124 E St Elmo Rd, Austin, TX 78744) de 10:00 a.m. a 1:00 p.m. el sábado 11 de diciembre.

Las enfermeras de Ascension Seton estarán en la cafetería de la escuela administrando la vacuna Pfizer a los niños de 5 a 17 años (los padres deben estar presentes) y a los adultos que deseen recibir vacunas de refuerzo. No es necesario registrarse previamente. No se requiere seguro médico.

Recuerde, los CDC aprueban que las vacunas de refuerzo para adultos se mezclen y combinen, lo que significa que si sus dosis iniciales fueron Moderna, puede recibir su vacuna de refuerzo con Pfizer.


¡Espero verlos a todos allí!

Big picture

Health Notice to Parents

With concerns about Coronavirus and the Flu prominent in the community, we would like to remind families that, to prevent spread of contagious illness in the school, we recommend that your child stay home from school if experiencing flu or cold symptoms. To decide whether or not to send your child to school, please consider the following guidelines:


Consider keeping your child at home for an extra day of rest and observation if he or she has any of the following symptoms:


  • Very stuffy or runny nose and/or cough

  • Mild sore throat (no fever, no known exposure to strep)

  • Headache

  • Mild stomach ache


Definitely keep your child at home for treatment and observation if he or she has any of these symptoms:


  • Fever (greater than 100 degrees by mount and your child may return to school only after his or her temperature has been consistently below 100 degrees, by mouth, for a minimum of 24 hours)

  • Vomiting (even once)

  • Diarrhea

  • Chills

  • General malaise or feelings of fatigue, discomfort, weakness, or muscle aches

  • Frequent congested (wet) or croupy cough

  • Lots of nasal congestion with frequent blowing of nose


To help prevent the flu and other colds, teach your children good hygiene habits:


  • Wash hands frequently

  • Do not touch eyes, nose, or mouth

  • Cover mouth and nose when sneezing or coughing, use a paper tissue, throw it away and then wash hands

  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick.


Colds are the most contagious during the first 48 hours. A child who has a fever should remain at home until "fever free" for a minimum of 24 hours. A child who has started antibiotics needs to be on the medication for 48 hours before being considered non-contagious and able to return to school. Often when a child awakens with vague complaints (the way colds and flu begin) it is wise to observe your child at home for an hour or two before deciding whether or not to bring to school. Your child should be physically able to participate in all school activities on return to school. Keeping a sick child at home will minimize the spread of infections and viruses in the classroom.


Thank you in advance for helping make this year at school as healthy as possible.


If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 512-284-9800 ext 127.


Sincerely,


Brittany Bayne CMA

Health Aide

NEW Endeavor Spirit Shirts

T-Shirts to be worn on Fridays with jeans for students are now available!


Sizes will include Adult XS to Adult XXXL. Youth sizes are limited to only Youth Medium, Youth Large, and Youth XL. Please pay on RevTrak directly and once the order is in we will call your student to the front office for pick up.

Big picture
Spirit Shirt Payment Button

Click here to make payment

Big picture

Breakfast AND LUNCH MENUS

Big picture
Big picture
Counselors' Corner

Visit Counselors' Corner

Harmony School of Endeavor Leadership Team

Please send an email request for an appointment first before coming to campus. We appreciate your understanding.


Campus Leadership Team


Toraman Yayla, Principal tyayla@harmonytx.org


Ruben Mutt Ortiz, Dean of Student Culture (PK-12) rortiz@harmonytx.org


Andreas Frangeskou, Dean of Academics (PK-5) afrangesko@harmonytx.org


Ayse Tunc, Dean of Academics (6-12) atunc@harmonytx.org


Mahmut Unver, Dean of College and Career munver@harmonytx.org


Joseph Kat, High School Counselor skat@harmonytx.org


Heather Olivo, Campus Seminar Advisor, holivo@harmonytx.org


Jenny Welch, Behavioral Counselor vwelch@harmonytx.org


Sonia Martinez, Student Recruitment Coordinator smartinez@harmonytx.org


Robert Garza, Testing/Federal Programs/Instructional Materials Coordinator rogarza@harmonytx.org


Mualla Ozguven, Student Success and Engagement Coordinator, mozguven@harmonytx.org


Emily Christian, SPED/504 Coordinator Emily.Christian@harmonytx.org


Paige Rivera, ESL/GT Coordinator Paige.Rivera@harmonytx.org


Candice George-Parsons, Business Operations Manager cgeorge@harmonytx.org


Joana Calzadillas, Attendance Specialist mcalzadillas@harmonytx.org


Matthew Rivera, Child Nutrition Assistant matthew.rivera@harmonytx.org


Amanda Robles, Campus Secretary, amanda.robles@harmonytx.org


Brittany Bayne, School Medical Assistant bbayne@harmonytx.org