The Seahawks Call

Week of April 12, 2021 Volume 27

Message from Principal Taylor..............................

I hope that everyone had an enjoyable Spring Break. It's hard to believe we have only one quarter left in this school year. Regular conversations and conferences among staff, students, and parents will take place this quarter as we make final instructional decisions as it relates to promotions, summer school, and retentions. So that means full speed ahead for students. This is the time for students to kick things in gear and put forth the effort and the kind of work ethic that is needed to improve grades, increase GPAs, and get ready for the next level.

REMINDER: Delayed start time for Virtual Students ONLY on April 19th and April 22nd

Due to Phase 3 and 4 students returning to in-person learning twice per week, we will have a delayed start time on Monday, April 19th and Thursday, April 22nd, students remaining in the virtual setting, WILL NOT JOIN their first period class. Students learning in the virtual setting WILL JOIN their third period class, which starts at 9:00 a.m.

Eighth Grade Proofs

All 8th grade students are required to submit two current proofs of domicile to update their student record for high school. Please see the attached parent letter for details. Parents may upload the proofs through ParentVue or email the proofs directly to our guidance secretary, Ms. Matos, at rmatos@ccboe.com. The deadline to submit these proofs is April 12, 2021.


Students who turn in acceptable proofs of domicile will be entered into a weekly raffle. The earlier your proofs are submitted, the more chances to win! Prizes will vary.


Families should contact Pam Jenkins, PPW at pkjenkins@ccboe.com if they need assistance with proofs or have questions.

Library News from Mrs. H-J!

SeaHawks Read

Seahawks read 43,148 minutes in March and earned 566 badges! Way to read! Continue your reading in April with the Beanstack Young Poet’s Reading Challenge. Be sure to look at the activities and see Inaugural Poet Amanda Gorman reciting some of her poems!

Library Reminders

Our library books are looking to reunite with their missing companions. Have a Somers library book still checked out? Please return it during school hours and make the other books happy.

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.