The Seven Principles

Of the Constitution By Zierany Cannonier

Separation of powers

When all the powers of the government is divided into three branches so no one has too much power. (Ex.) The president vetoes laws if he doesn't agree with them


Power divided between the federal government and the states. (Ex.) Powers not given by the constitution to the Federal government and not denied to the states are reserved for the states

Individual rights

Personal freedoms and equality under law (Ex.) bill of rights

Limited government

The governments power is limited and they are not powerful (Ex.) Article 1 section 9&10 Outline many powers the government does not have(similar to manga Carta)

Checks and balances

Each branch of the national government has certain controls over the other branches (Ex.)President has power to veto a bill passed by congress


The people vote representatives to represent them. (Ex.) Article 2 creates office of president and Vice President elected every 4 years

Popular Sovereignty

The final power in government rests with the citizens (Ex.) Preamble- We the people of the United States......