Lincoln Middle School

August 21, 2020

Big picture

Principal's Message

Student Chromebook and supply pick-up over the past two days was terrific! The best part was seeing our students and families. Lincoln staff has been working very hard to get ready for Monday, our first day of remote learning, and we hope Lincoln families are getting ready too! This is our first newsletter of the 2020/2021 school year, and we hope it will be a great source of information for families. I know that inboxes may be overflowing with emails and newsletters from more than one school and that can quickly becoming overwhelming. I will strive to keep our newsletters concise, meaningful, and a valuable resource for your family.


  • Be sure to review your child's schedule before Monday and enjoy our Welcome Video together! Just click on the link below!

  • Mr. Steen and I are so pleased to be able to work with Mrs. Susannah Wade. Mrs. Wade is Lincoln's new assistant principal and she will coordinate special education services for Lincoln students. Please do not hesitate to reach out to your child's teacher or her if you have any questions or concerns about your child's IEP or E-Learning. You can contact Mrs. Wade at 847.394.7350 X5007, or via email: swade@d57.org.

  • Remote learning still requires parents to report student absences. If your child will not participate in remote learning on a given day, please call the school’s attendance number before 7:30am to report the absence at (847) 394-7350, press 1. For your convenience, our attendance line is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We will contact home should a student not report to remote learning and has not been called in for the day.

  • PTO has met, virtually, of course! This is a great group of parents who are committed to work together to enhance our students' experience at Lincoln. If interested in working with the PTO, please contact Mr. Terrence Sherrill, PTO President at tsherrill@hpil.org.

  • All students were provided important Chromebook information at the supply pick up. Please be sure to look for this letter in your stack of supplies.

  • Please be patient with any technology issues that might arise, especially in the first week of remote learning. Ms. Sassatelli, our Technology Coach, has provided helpful start-off information below, including a link to schedule assistance with any tech issues.


Thank you for taking the time to read through this newsletter and keep your family informed as we begin this journey into the new school year. Your partnership will be vital to the success of your child's remote learning experience. Thank you for your confidence and support.


Paul Suminski

We are so glad you have joined us!

Ms. Lora Cremascoli, Special Education

Ms. JoAnn Dynkin, School Psychologist

Ms. Karen Zeug, Instructional Assistant

Mrs. Susannah Wade, Assistant Principal

Big picture

Team Leaders . . .

Need to contact your child's team of teachers?


Here's the best way!


Liger Team: Alexa Martin: amartin@d57.org

Cheetah Team: Samantha Yaeger: syaeger@d57.org

Wildcat Team: Margaret Woldenberg: mwoldenberg@d57.org

Panther Team: Jessica DiVito: jdivito@d57.org

Jaguar Team: Loretta Rose: lrose@d57.org

Snow Leopard Team: Amy Traversone: atraversone@d57.org

Mr. Fudala, Band Director

BAND BOOK PICK-UP!

Candota Parking Lot

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

3:30 pm - 6 pm

Ms. Sassatelli . . . Lincoln Technology Coach

Chromebooks: Tips for Success!


1) Make sure to charge the Chromebook every night, and try to find a quiet spot in the home for classwork & Zoom meetings. Students will want to be close to an outlet in case their Chromebook needs to be charged mid-day.


2) Test the video & audio on the Chromebook before school begins on Monday, if possible. If students experience tech issues at any time during remote learning, they can fill out an At Home Tech Assistance form and the technology department will be in contact. This form can be found on the District's Remote Learning page.


3) Students will notice their Chromebooks automatically take them to a new resource portal called Classlink LaunchPad! Online textbooks and resources can be found here, and teachers will provide more directions as the school year kicks into gear.

Big picture

The Lincoln Office!

We are here to answer questions and assist you in any way we can!

Call or email anytime!

Lynn Atkinson, 847.394.7350, X5001 - latkinson@d57.org

Robin Moran, 847.394.7350, X5000 - rmoran@d57.org

Beth Wiley, 847.394.7350, X5013 - ewiley@d57.org

FROM YOUR SCHOOL NURSE, MRS. SMITH

Despite the continuing pandemic and the current remote learning situation we find ourselves in, the Illinois State Board of Education and Illinois Department of Public Health have not changed health requirements for the 2020/2021 school year. Therefore, all incoming 6th grade and new students must submit a completed school physical and immunization record to the health office prior to October 15th. Once In-Person learning resumes, if the required paperwork has not been received, your child will be excluded from school. This paperwork can either be emailed to the school nurse (ssmith@d57.org) or dropped off at Lincoln Middle School (collection bin located in the foyer/front of building from 8am-3pm Monday to Thursday). The required form is attached to this email. Please make sure to complete the health history section at the top of the form, sign and date--this section is completed by parent.


During this difficult time, it is of the utmost importance for us all to help prevent future outbreaks of preventable contagious diseases such as measles, mumps, meningitis, by keeping up to date with childhood immunizations. Please contact your school nurse with any questions or concerns.


Medical forms can be found at this link.

FROM THE DISTRICT BUSINESS OFFICE . . .

Click here for information regarding the lunch program.

Questions should be directed to Annette Griffith at 847.394.7300, X1005 or via email: agriffith@d57.org


Click here for the application for Free Milk/Meals and Free/Reduced Price Lunches.

Contact Us

Paul Suminski, Principal / psuminski@d57.org

Randy Steen, Assistant Principal / rsteen@d57.org

Susannah Wade, Assistant Principal / swade@d57.org

Office: (847) 394-7350 / Fax: (847) 394-7358