Welcome to Johnston County, NC

Part of the Coastal Carolina Region

Johnston County full of rich North Carolina History

Founded in 1746 and named for than governor of North Carolina Gaberil Johnston. The following counties border our great county: Wake, Harnett, Sampson, Wayne, Wilson and Nash County.
Our county is ran by 7 elected Board of Commissioners each representing a district of Johnston County along with our County Manger Rick Hester. Our duties include making sure that local taxes, sheriff departments, public works department, public health regulations, road maintenance. The boards mission is "provide leadership and support, and to advocate actions for an effective County Government that seeks to enhance the quality of life for present and future generations of the people of Johnston County." Please join us for a meeting on the first Monday's of the month at the historic Johnston County Courthouse at either 10 am or 6 pm.
Big image

Smithfield our County Seat

Smithfield located on Neuse River, it was founded by John Smith Jr and was officially charted a town in 1777. Our Mayor John Lampe, Town Manager Paul Sabistion along with 6 other members of the town council who are elected to 4 year terms. Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of every month at 6:30 pm in the Town Hall Council Chambers at 350 East Market Street. While here we invite you to see the rich heritage of Smithfield. Come shop at our historical shopping district and visit the Ava Gardner Museum, Hollywood Icon


National Historical Landmark Bentonville Battlefield is home to the last full-scale action of the Civil War in which a Confederate army was able to mount a tactical offensive. This major battle, the largest ever fought in North Carolina, was the only significant attempt to defeat the large Union army of Gen. William T. Sherman during its march through the Carolinas in the spring of 1865. While there you can also visit The Harper House which is furnished as a civil war hospital.