The 7 principles

By: Justin Cross

Popular sovereignty

We the people give power to our government for them to make a law

" We the people of the United States .... do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America."


We the people elect people to be in the offices

"The constitution sets down a time frame for regular elections for all elected government positions.


Federalism is power divided into 2 governments, the central government and the state governments

"Powers not delegated to the national government and not denied to the states or to the people by the 10th amendment."

Separation of powers

Separation of powers- is divided into 3 branches of government, legislative, executive, and judicial. They give all 3 branches a different part to use, because if there were only one brach then they would have too much power.

Article I creates a Legislative branch

Article II creates an Executive branch

Article III creates a Judicial branch

Checks and balances

Each branch of government has certain controls

"Article I gives Congress the power to Impeach"

"Article II gives the President the power to appoint judges of the Supreme Court and other federal courts"

"Article III does not give the judicial branch any check the other 2 branches"

Limited government

Governments power is limited by the rule of law which includes the Constitution and the laws which are passed in pursuance of that Constitution.

"Limits the government, for example, are imposed by the rights guaranteed to the people by the U.S. Bill of Rights and by Article I, sections 9 and 10."