First Grade Newsletter

May 4th-8th

Service Learning PBL

Dear Parents,

In two weeks we will begin our second PBL (Project based learning). This time it is a goods and services PBL that will be tied into our service learning project. A service learning project is where students learn how to help their community and make a difference. We've decided that we would like to help a nonprofit organization known as Grace. It helps people with a limited income or who have experienced a recent emergency and are in need of clothing, food, financial assistance, and other vital necessities. Our goal is to teach students how to spend money wisely and to get the most for their money. In order to accomplish this goal, we will need all of your support!


More information will be coming home this week that will provide a detailed explanation of our PBL and how you can help! Thank you!


Sincerely,

The First Grade Team

Career Day

Career Day is this Friday, May 8th. It's a great opportunity to teach our students about options they have for their future. However, we are still in need of numerous volunteers to fill open spots. If you are interested in coming to speak to a class about your career, or know someone else who would be, you may use this link http://vols.pt/WNj5nQ to sign up. Thank you!

Learning Targets

A Learning Target is the desired goal of each task in which your child will actively be involved. In addition, it engages your child in reflective evaluation of their own performance.

Each week you can ask your child about the learning target to ensure a great conversation of "what did you learn at school today?"


Readers Workshop:

Students will identify similarities and differences between various Laura Numeroff books.


Writers Workshop:

Students will write their own version of a Laura Numeroff book.


Social Studies:

Students will participate in career day and think about what they would like to be when they grow up.


Math Workshop:

Students will add two digit numbers together to find a sum using tens and ones.


Science:

Students will identify and describe parts of a plant.

Upcoming Events

May 8th: Career Day

May 15th: Field Day

May 21st: Million Word Challenge Field Trip

May 25th: Memorial Day- Bad Weather Make Up Day

May 29th: Field trip to the Mint

Teacher Contact Information

Brytnei Rocha: brocha@nisdtx.org
Stefanie Dailey: sdailey@nisdtx.org
Dan Flank: dflank@nisdtx.org
Alyssa Stas: astas@nistx.org
Amy Harding: aharding@nisdtx.org
Breanne Goeke: bgoeke@nisdtx.org
Kristin Beaty: kbeaty@nisdtx.org

Transportation Changes

To ensure your child's transportation changes are met each day, please contact the front office or email Beckelem@nisdtx.org and CC your child's teacher with the changes. It would be best to notify us as early in the day as possible.

We are the Power of One

Are you following Beck on Twitter? If not, please consider joining and keeping up with the amazing things happening on campus. You can also like us on Facebook! Click the links above to find out more.