TRIX ACADEMY

March 22, 2021

Dates to Remember

3/23/2021 - Food Distribution

3/26/2021 - Quarter 3 Ends

3/29/2021 - 4/5/2021 - Spring Break

From the Desk of the Principal

Hello Trix Academy Family!


Last week, Trix Academy began making phone calls to families who have not completed the re-enrollment survey or returning to 5 days a week of instruction survey. If you missed our call, please call the office as soon as possible. We are eager to hear your feedback as we begin to enter the last quarter of this academic school year. Trix Academy is also currently enrolling scholars for the 2021-2022 school year. For those seeking additional information, please call the office at (313) 426-1020 or visit our website at trix.mecc-academies.org.


Sincerely,


Detra Coleman, Ed.S.

Trix Academy School Leader

Summer Advantage

Phalen Leadership Academies is partnering with Summer Advantage USA to offer a 5-week summer learning program to our scholars AT NO COST TO YOU! Beyond being one of the nation's ONLY scientifically-studied summer programs proven to improve academic scores, Summer Advantage also artfully incorporates engaging enrichment activities every afternoon for a FULL DAY of learning & fun for our scholars! To enroll your student, please visit www.summeradvantage.org and click the yellow 'enroll here' button. Program specifics are below.


Location: Trix Academy (in-person)

Dates: June 28, 2021 - July 30, 2021

Times: Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM until 2:30 PM

Contact: d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Technology Device Care Tips and Incentive

As we prepare for the final card marking soon, we are also starting our communications regarding the remote learning technology devices. As an incentive for those who have taken care of their devices, an incentive will be given as technology devices are returned in June. Continue to follow the technology care tips below as this will help to ensure you qualify for an incentive.


  • Ensure the case remains on the iPad or Chromebook
  • Ensure food and drinks are not around the technology device
  • Ensure scholars are stationary when using the iPad or Chromebook
  • Monitor data usage on the hotspot
  • When lessons have concluded for the day, ensure the scholar places the device in the same location for the next day
  • Ensure technology devices are plugged in to charge at the end of the school day in order for scholars to have a fully charged device for the next school day.


If you have any questions, please let me know via email at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org or by calling the office at (313) 426-1020.

Facts About Attendance

Trix Academy is continuing to help all of our scholars participate in the learning process on a consistent basis. Based on data, there are certain patterns that exist for children who are chronically absent from school.


  • By 6th grade, chronic absence becomes a leading indicator that a student will drop out of high school.

  • Poor attendance can influence whether children read proficiently by the end of third grade or be held back.


In the midst of the challenges we are currently facing, it is important for our scholar(s) to log into class on a daily basis. Receiving first hand instruction on a consistent basis is very important to the learning process.

Breakfast

Trix Academy serves breakfast daily from 8:05am - 8:30am in each classroom to ensure social distancing is being observed. It is very important for all scholars to arrive at breakfast time to eat breakfast and begin learning at the start of instructional time.

Staff Email Addresses


Leadership

Detra Coleman, Principal - d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org



Sheilene Smith, Office Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org


Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Matthew Bowman, Academic Interventionist - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Sharon Dye, Lead Teacher - s.dye@mecc-academies.org

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org



Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher Assistant - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Darryle Cross, Teacher Assistant - d.cross@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher Assistant - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Christine Truesdell, Teacher - c.truesdell@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher Assistant - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher Intern - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, Teacher Assistant - a.keys@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Paige DeRue, Teacher Assistant - p.derue@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org