MoASSP Messenger September 20, 2019

Volume 33 Number 6

Since August 1987, MoASSP Messenger has been published by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals, a non-profit organization affiliated with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.
MoASSP President, Marc Spunaugle, Welcomes Secondary School Leaders

QUOTE FOR THE PRINCIPAL'S JOURNEY

"Each person holds so much power within themselves that needs to be let out. Sometimes they just need a little nudge, a little direction, a little support, a little coaching, and the greatest things can happen." Pete Carroll, Head Coach Seattle Seahawks

Big picture

Update From the Executive Director


FALL CONFERENCE "Leading FUTURE-FOCUSED Schools"

All of us need a little nudge at times. The 85th Annual Fall Conference can provide you that "little nudge, direction, support, and coaching" that Coach Carroll talks about. It isn't too late to register. You can click on the links below, call our office, fax, email us your registration and walk-ins are welcome. Safe travels to CoMo and we will see you one week from Sunday. Sign up today.


CONSIDERATIONS FOR PRINCIPALS WHEN STUDENTS ARE PLANNING AN ORGANIZED PROTEST OR WALKOUT

I saw a tweet early this morning from NASSP with helpful considerations for principals if you have a protest or walkout. Today is "Global Climate Strike Protest Day." It is also Pepperoni Pizza Day." FYI--


TRAVELS NEXT WEEK

  • Wednesday: Clark is attending Southwest MoASSP meeting at Southwest Baptist U. in Bolivar. Doug is attending South Central meeting at Rolla HS.


MEMBERSHIP

Our membership continues to climb. Since last week, we have four new members to MoASSP and 36 renewals.


Whether you are aspiring, emerging, developing, or transformational, wherever you are on the “Principal’s Journey," it is a “matter of principal(ple).” Clark Mershon

IN THIS ISSUE OF THE MESSENGER

  1. Video Welcome from MoASSP President Marc Spunaugle
  2. Inspirational quote from Coach Pete Carroll
  3. Fall Conference
  4. Robert C. Howe Service to Secondary Education Recipients Announced
  5. Student Protest/Walkout Considerations
  6. Missouri Association of Student Councils Information
  7. Celebrating a First-Year Principal
  8. Recognizing Southeast MoASSP Leadership
  9. Information on 2019 Leadership Summit in November (MoASBO and MASA)
  10. Impressive Video from Elementary Principal & Editing Software
  11. Get Ready for Principals Month in October
  12. New Dental & Vision Plan for MoASSP Members & Family
  13. Fall Into Funding with Donors Choose
  14. School Wellness Symposium Video Promo
  15. See Who Has Joined or Renewed MoASSP Memberships this Week
Big picture

The College Board will be sharing important Advanced Placement information at the Fall Conference.

Looking for a path to success for ALL students? Explore the new processes and resources designed to help more students earn college credit. Find out what’s happening with Advanced Placement and how it can impact your school. Students and educators now have access to AP Classroom, which includes new instructional resources that provide daily support for the 2019-20 school year. If you already have a robust AP program or you are looking to build one in your school this session will be beneficial to you. Both Mark Parson, Director K-12, College Board Midwest Region and Hoor Bhanpuri, Executive Director K-12, College Board Midwest Region will be presenting.

ROBERT C. HOWE SERVICE TO SECONDARY EDUCATION 2019 AWARD RECIPIENTS

Since 1988, MoASSP has annually presented an exceptional award at the Fall Conference to those individuals who have made significant contributions to secondary education. This award was renamed the Robert C. Howe Service to Secondary Education Award in 1995. This year's recipients are longtime MoASSP Administrative Assistant (30+ years), Candy Bristow, Lynn Snow, longtime principal at Sedalia Smith-Cotton, MoASSP Past President and Board Member, and Phil Lewis retired MoASSP Executive Director and former principal. All three will be recognized for their years of service to secondary education at the Awards Luncheon, Monday, September 30.

MESSAGE FROM MISSOURI ASSOCIATION STUDENT COUNCILS


MASC is sponsored by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals (MoASSP) and is affiliated with the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP). It is a voluntary membership organization which provides leadership training activities for member schools. Membership is open to all junior high, middle and high schools, both public and private, in Missouri. Nearly 300 schools in MO belong to MASC which serves over 15,000 students throughout the year at its annual events.


MASC’s mission is to provide programs and resources that develop positive student leaders and advisors who will promote a quality school and community environment. MASC believes it is essential for a student council to promote a positive learning environment and build a school culture where students and staff are comfortable.


Professional development will be offered for new and veteran advisors at Old Kinderhook Lodge, on October 12, 13, 14. If you are interested in helping your student council advisor learn more, check out this page.


MASC provides Fall Conferences in each of the seven regions of Missouri. These one-day meetings offer leadership training for students and advisors, a motivational speaker, small and large group workshops and lunch. Registration information can be found on our website under the Districts tab. Here is a list of the host schools.


Membership is open now, and schools are encouraged to join before December 31 to take advantage of all the benefits of membership. Dues are $100 per school year, and the membership link can be found here. For additional information or questions, contact Terri Johnson. 816-261-7079 masc@masc1.org

FIRST-YEAR HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL, MATTHEW BRADLEY

First-year High School Principal, Matthew Bradley, @Potosi_Trojans attended the Southeast @MOASSP meeting @KnightsR7, Farmington HS Wednesday & was presented a couple of gifts from Executive Director, @ClarkWMershon on behalf of @MOASSP. Enjoy the journey Matt!
Big picture

SOUTHEAST MoASSP 2019-2020 OFFICERS

From left to right are Dan Hecht, Principal, Kelly-Benton HS, and MoASSP Board Member. Chris Hoehne, Principal, Ste. Genevieve HS and NASSP Coordinator for Missouri. David Haug, Principal, Jefferson R-VII and Treasurer. Gena Sitton, Principal, Advance HS, and President. Seth Harrell, Principal, Jackson HS, and President-Elect. A great group of leaders representing Southeast Missouri & MoASSP.

Big picture

IMPRESSIVE EXAMPLE OF ATHENA ELEMENTARY PRINCIPAL, RON FARROW, & HIS USE OF VIDEO

Ron uses Camtasia as his editing software. If you are on a limited budget, check out the link below. Ron sends out a video frequently to his community. Athena Elementary is in Desoto, Missouri.
weekend update for the week of 9/9/19

OCTOBER IS NATIONAL PRINCIPALS MONTH...INVITE YOUR LEGISLATOR TO YOUR SCHOOL...ADVOCATING FOR PRINCIPALS, WITH PRINCIPALS

"Every year in October, the American Federation of School Administrators (AFSA), the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) join forces to celebrate principals for their tireless dedication to their students and the schools they serve. This year, National Principals Month is shifting focus and using its platform to advocate on behalf of principals. These school leaders fight every day to give their students the best education, and it’s time we advocate for them and with them. Lend your voice this October to honor, celebrate, and advocate for principals everywhere." NASSP


Now is the time to start or strengthen a relationship with your elected official(s). You will help to educate them on important issues before the legislative session begins in January. Having them interact with staff and students will also provide essential insights for them. As they deliberate on educational issues during the legislative session, they will reflect on their visit to your school. FIND YOUR LEGISLATOR: Enter your home or school’s address for a list of state and federal legislators in your area. Write a letter or email inviting them to visit your school. If needed, follow up with a phone call. Our MoASSP office will assist you in scheduling and coordination. Call us at 573-445-5071. Once you have them scheduled, please share with us the date they are coming. Consider watching this webinar on why and how to host a legislative visit to your school.

MoASSP Action Center...WE NEED YOU! Lets be ready for the next legislative session that begins in January.

MoASSP partnered with NASSP a year ago, using a new advocacy tool called Phone 2 Action. If you haven't become an "Advocate" yet, please do so. It is simple. Click on this link and provide the following information, and confirm subscription:
  • home address
  • cell number
  • personal email (not school)
  • You will then receive a text message from 528-86 with the following message: "Reply YES to confirm your subscription to Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals Action Center.

It is that simple. You do not have to send a message to your legislator to become an advocate. When we have an action item that needs support, we will be ready to act.

Big picture
School Wellness Symposium Nov. 17-18 Columbia, Missouri

HELP US WELCOME 4 NEW MoASSP MEMBERS


  1. Trent Barratt Neosho HS barratttrent@neoshosd.org Principal SW
  2. Christina Hughes Hazelwood School District chughes1@hazelwoodschools.org Aspiring SL
  3. Pat Schwalbe Ridgewood MS schwalbep@fox.k12.mo.us Principal SL
  4. Tim Garner Notre Dame Regional HS timgarner@notredamecape.org Assistant Principal SE

36 Renewals


  1. Stacy Curry Smith-Cotton HS currys@sedalia200.org Assistant Principal C
  2. Joseph Doyle Smith-Cotton HS doylej@sedalia200.org Assistant Principal C
  3. John Murphy Chilhowee HS jmurphy@chilhowee.k12.mo.us Principal C
  4. Nancy Henson Pioneer Ridge MS nancy_henson@isdschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  5. Randy Oliver Van Horn HS randy_oliver@isdschools.org Associate Principal KC
  6. Melissa Romero Van Horn HS melissa_romero@isdschools.org Admin. Intern KC
  7. Sean Saunders Van Horn HS sean_saunders@isdschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  8. Chris Hughes Montgomery Co. MS ccparker@mc-wildcats.org Principal NE
  9. Kirk Stott Scotland Co. R-I HS kstott@scotland.k12.mo.us Principal NE
  10. Matt Finch Marceline M/HS mfinch@marcelineschools.org Principal NE
  11. Zack Danner Hardin-Central HS zdanner@hardin-central.org Principal NW
  12. Jennifer Davis St. Clair HS jdavis@stcmo.org Principal SC
  13. Pam Tholen St. Francis Borgia HS pam.tholen@borgia.com Principal SC
  14. Ted Koenigsfeld Union MS koenigsfeldt@unionrxi.org Principal SC
  15. William Arnel Francis Howell Central HS sonny.arnel@fhsdschools.org Principal SL
  16. Amanda Berry Northwest HS aberry@northwestschools.net Assistant Principal SL
  17. Marletha Davis Francis Howell Central HS marletha.davis@fhsdschools.org Assistant Principal SL
  18. Adam Dotson Crestview MS dotsonadam@rsdmo.org Aspiring SL
  19. Andy Downs Francis Howell Central HS andrew.downs@fhsdschools.org Associate Principal SL
  20. Kevin Grawer Maplewood-Richmond Hgts. HS kevin.grawer@mrhschools.net Principal SL
  21. Katie Greer Francis Howell North HS kathryn.greer@fhsdschools.org Assistant Principal SL
  22. Scott Harris Francis Howell Central HS scott.harris@fhsdschools.org Activities Director SL
  23. Rhonda Key Jennings HS keyr@jenningsk12.org Principal SL
  24. Ashely Mair Francis Howell Central HS ashley.mair@fhsdschools.org Dean of Students SL
  25. David Stofer Francis Howell Central HS david.stofer@fhsdschools.org Assistant Principal SL
  26. Brian Warner Francis Howell Central HS brian.warner@fhsdschools.org Assistant Principal SL
  27. Jennifer Younkin Northwest HS jyounkins@northwestschools.net Assistant Principal SL
  28. Rebecca Ash Pipkin MS rlash@spsmail.org Principal SW
  29. Jason Duey Seymour HS jduey@seymourschool.net Principal SW
  30. Matthew Harding North MS matthewharding@joplinschools.org Principal SW
  31. Kim Lloyd Lebanon HS klloyd@lebanon.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SW
  32. Kevin Lowery Lebanon HS klowery@lebanon.k12.mo.us Principal SW
  33. Bob Matthews Lebanon HS bmatthews@lebanon.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SW
  34. Craig Reeves Lebanon HS creeves@lebanon.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SW
  35. Doug Summers Marshfield JHS doug.summers@mjays.us Principal SW
  36. Chris Johnson Mt. Vernon HS johnstonchris@mtvernon.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SW

WHEN YOU RENEW YOUR MoASSP MEMBERSHIP FOR 2019-2020, YOU WILL RECEIVE ELN. CLICK ON THE IMAGE BELOW FOR MORE INFORMATION.

Upcoming Regional Meetings, Workshops, & New Principals Conference Information

Check out all of the upcoming regional, workshops, and spring conference information by going to the MoASSP website.
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

2019-2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

  • NASSP Coordinator for Missouri: Chris Hoehne
    Ste. Genevieve HS
  • MoASSP President: Marc Spunaugle, Lincoln HS
  • MoASSP President-Elect: Jim Pritchett, Rolla HS
  • MoASSP Past President: Ed Gettemeier, Hardin MS
  • MoASSP Treasurer: Kathryn Greer, Francis Howell North HS
  • At-Large Non-Public: Valerie Todd, St. Mary's HS
  • At-Large Assistant Principal: Jennifer Strauser, Eureka HS
  • At-Large Middle Level: Jonathan Apostol, Monett MS
  • Kansas City (GKCMPA): Jeff Meisenheimer, Lee's Summit North HS
  • Northwest: Robert Bowers, Lathrop HS
  • Northeast: Scott Daly, Hallsville HS
  • Southeast: Dan Hecht, Kelly-Benton HS
  • Southwest: Keith White, Buffalo HS
  • South Central: Kelle McCallum, Washington HS
  • Central: Brandon Harding, Cole Camp HS
  • St. Louis (SASSP): Jonathan Shultz Francis Howell HS

2019-2020 REGIONAL PRESIDENTS

  1. Central Region: Jarrod Steffens, Clinton HS
  2. GKCMPA: Kayla England, Lee's Summit West HS
  3. Northeast Region: Andy Jackson, LaPlata HS
  4. Northwest Region: Clint Howren, Savannah MS
  5. SASSP: Earl Draper, DuBray MS (Fort Zumwalt)
  6. South Central Region: Joe Stammers, St. James HS
  7. Southeast Region: Gena Sitton, Advance HS
  8. Southwest Region: Jack Randolph, West Plains HS

Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals

The vision of MoASSP is to serve ALL middle level and high school administrators.


The mission of MoASSP is to improve secondary education through positive leadership and the enhancement of student performance.