Jeffries Weekly Update

February 15-19, 2016

Feedback Opportunity

Thank you to those who have taken the time to complete a Friday Feedback- some have done it multiple times- love it! Feel free to complete one once a week, once a month- or as you feel the desire. I appreciate you taking the time to share celebrations, area of consideration and anything else you would like to share! It's called Friday Feedback on the Jeffries CANVAS page/Feed Forward. Go directly to CANVAS or click on the hyperlink above.
Big image

This Week's Events

Liz Physically Out All Week (always mentally present and available by text/email!)

Monday, Feb. 15– No School (President’s Day)

BrightBytes Survey- 16-26 window (parents, students and staff)

Tuesday, Feb. 16- LIz at Leadership Symposium; Fred in Charge; Watch DOGS: Safety Committee (3:50-4:30PM) with Fred in the Conference Room; Google Mini Learning Session with Jana 4-4:30PM; Guest Speaker available: Mr. Eutsler (Famous Americans)

Wednesday, Feb. 17- Liz at Leadership Symposium; Ms. Baugh is Teacher in Charge (she has a sub.); Watch DOG: Brandon Essary (lunch time only)

Thursday, Feb. 18- TST 7:45-8:30AM; Liz attends SPED training all day (Low Functioning Students- attends with Hannah Davis & Sally Ruder); Fred in Charge; PTA Founder's Day Banquet (6:30PM- ticketed event)

Friday, Feb. 19- Liz at Professional Learning Advisory Committee Mtg. all day (make-up from snow day)- Rachelle Certain is Teacher in Charge (has a sub.);

5th Grade students visit Carver Middle School (morning); Mobile Food Pantry at Jeffries 11:00-12:30PM (all Jeffries families may come)

Big image

Upcoming Events

Monday, Feb. 22- 3rd Grade Peter & the Wolf Field Trip

Wednesday, Feb. 24- Science Consumables $$ must be spent- see Lucie Rogers; Leader in Me Steering Committee Mtg. 7:45AM

Friday, Feb. 26– Jeffries K Registration (2016-2017 School Year) from 10-12PM.

Monday, Feb. 29-March. 4- Student Council Penny War (to benefit Leadership Program)

Wednesday, March 2- Leadership Day at Bellerive Elementary

Friday, March 4- Leadership Assembly; End of 3rd Quarter

March 7-11- Spring Break

Monday, Feb. 29– March 4- Student Council Penny War (to benefit Leadership Program)

Tuesday, March 1– PTA Mtg. with 1st Grade Performance at 7PM

Friday, March 4- Leadership Assembly; End of 3rd Quarter

March 7-11- Spring Break

Monday, March 14- Professional Work Day

Tuesday, March 15– Jeffries Texas Roadhouse Night 4-8PM (students dance at 7PM) Wednesday, March 16– Parents as Teachers K-Prep 12:30PM & Future Jaguars 1:30-2:15PM (library)

Thursday, March 17- St. Patrick's Day

Friday, March 18– VOICE (Career Fair) for 3-5th Grade (organized by Mrs. Livingston from 9AM-12PM; PTA Spring Fundraiser Major Saver Kick-Off Assembly

Tuesday, March 22– 4th Grade Field Trip to the Springfield Symphony

Wednesday, March 23– Class Pictures, Spring Individual Pictures and 5th Grade Graduation Pictures

Monday, March 28- Jeffries Math Night 4:30-6:00PM

Wednesday, March 30– K & 1st Grade Assembly from 9:15-10AM– Springfield Regional Opera “Opera in the Schools”

Friday, April 1– Leadership Assembly

Tuesday, April 12– PTA General Mtg. with Kindergarten Performance at 7PM

Wednesday, April 13– Parents as Teachers K-Prep 12:30 & Future Jaguars 1:30-2:15PM

Tuesday, April 19- 5th grade students go to the Cardinals Game 9-1:30PM (tentatively)

Tuesday, April 26- Digital Dialogue Day with 3-5th grade students 2PM (assembly)

Wednesday, April 27- 4th grade students go to the Cardinals Game 9-1:30PM

Thursday, April 28- Jeffries Fine Arts Night (5:30-6:30PM)

Friday, April 29- 3D Club Celebration (12-2PM)

Saturday, April 30- Color Run "Jaguars"

Monday, May 2- 3rd grade students go to the Cardinals game 9-1:30PM

Monday, May 2-May 6- Teacher Appreciation Week

Thursday, May 14- Character Ed./Goal Setting Assembly with Real Encounter

Friday, May 13- Field Day

Saturday, May 14- Ridgecrest presents: Jeffries Family Day (with Real Encounter)

Make Someone's Day!

Have you completed a SPS Recognition Form lately to recognize a SPS R-12 employee for a job well done? Please do that here!

Big image
Google for Education Training

Want to begin training modules so you can work at your own speed on learning all about Google? I have invited you to a CANVAS training for Google. I would highly encourage you to begin going through the online courses.

Ready to move beyond Lexia? Training for Reading Plus!

Many of you have students that have completed Lexia and your students are ready to move on to Reading Plus. We are excited to announce after school training opportunities for Reading Plus Level 2 in 2016. You DO NOT need to have previously attended Reading Plus Level 1 Training to attend. Registration for each session is through Employee Self Service.

You also can explore Reading Plus trainings online:

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Training

Reading Plus Level 2

Time

4:00pm-5:00pm

Dates & Locations

Mon., February 1, 2016 Tefft Rm 102

Mon., February 22, 2016 Tefft Rm 102

Mon., March 21, 2016 Tefft Rm 102

Mon,. April 4, 2016 Tefft Rm 102

Need $$ to provide resources, etc. for your classroom?

Just a reminder that the Pick-a-Project application is still open until April. Teachers are still able to take advantage of this funding opportunity through the Foundation. More information and how to apply is found here on our webpage http://www.supportsps.org/pick-a-project

Big image

Jeffries 2015-2016 Volunteer of the Year

On behalf of Jeffries Elementary, we would like to recognize Mrs. Heather Baker, as Jeffries’ Volunteer of the Year. Mrs. Baker is a familiar face within the Jeffries Community who greets students, staff members and parents with a smile. Whenever there is a question, suggestion or concern, Mrs. Baker is there to listen and to make decisions based on what is best for the Jeffries Community. Mrs. Baker has served as the President of the Jeffries PTA for the past two years. She has been a member of the Jeffries PTA for 9 years. During her service, she has also held the roles of: Secretary and Treasurer.


Some of the committees and events she has assisted with have been: Membership, Spirit Gear, Fundraisers, Homeroom Parents and Yearly Financial Review.