North Shore Counseling Department

October/November News

Early Decision, Early Action, Single Choice, Restrictive Early Action. There are so many application options, but what do they mean?

Early Decision, Early Action and single choice ... oh my! Seniors have already met with counselors about these rapidly approaching deadlines. Any senior family who is uncertain about these admissions options should seek the advice of their counselor.


Early Decision (ED) is a binding agreement in the college admissions process. If you apply Early Decision you are agreeing to attend that institution if accepted. The only way out of an Early Decision contract is insufficient financial aid and that can be difficult to prove.


Early Action (EA) is non-binding, meaning that you typically can apply to other colleges even if you have applied Early Action. Pay attention because there are "single choice" or "restrictive early action" programs that will prohibit you from applying to any other EA or ED program if you applied Early Action to their school. For example, if you apply to Harvard under their Early Action program, you can also apply at the same time to any public college/university, but you are restricted from applying to other private universities’ Early Action and Early Decision programs.


Is it in your best interest to apply Early Action or Early Decision? Juniors, it is never too early to start thinking about this. Use your junior meeting to discuss these options with your counselor. You can also utilize the chart below and see the acceptance rates of each listed by school.

Upcoming Workshops

College Fair: Oct 16th High School Gym Parents can attend from 11-11:30. Students in grades 8-12 will attend from 9-11.


Financial Aid Night: November 5th 6:30 PM. Junior families may want to attend to learn what to expect senior year. Senior families will want to stop by with questions about this years FAFSA.


Performing & Visual Arts Fair: Nov 5th, 6:30-9pm, Jacob Javits Center in NYC


Naviance Workshop: Nov 27th, 7pm, High School Theater


Finding Your Best Fit College w/ Robert Franek: Jan 15th, 7 pm, High School Theater

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pj8vKlTOl5g

College Visits Continue

Several college representatives will be visiting the counseling office over the next few weeks. The recruiter that visits our office is likely reading the applications from North Shore. Students interested in one of these schools are strongly encouraged to attend.


10/15/2018 11:45am John Roh Johns Hopkins University john.roh@jhu.edu

10/17/2018 8:30am Alison Wang University of Michigan-Ann Arbor aliwang@umich.edu

10/18/2018 1:00pm James Grabina SUNY College at Brockport jgrabina@brockport.edu

10/18/2018 2:00pm Emily Santana Monmouth University esantana@monmouth.edu

10/18/2018 1:30pm Paul Compton Northwestern University paul.compton@northwestern.edu

10/18/2018 8:30am Eric Laboissonniere Roger Williams University elaboissonniere@rwu.edu

10/19/2018 9:00am Timothy O'Sullivan Quinnipiac University tosullivan@qu.edu

10/19/2018 8:00am Michael Crowley University of Delaware mjc@udel.edu

10/23/2018 8:00am Kendall Spina Washington University in St. Louis kmspina@wustl.edu

10/23/2018 9:00am Kate Henchy University of South Carolina-Columbia KHENCHY@mailbox.sc.edu

10/23/2018 10:00am Brianna Braswell Lafayette College braswelb@lafayette.edu

10/25/2018 1:00pm john macpherson The College of New Jersey macpherj@tcnj.edu

10/25/2018 2:00pm Erin FitzGerald Drexel University epf33@drexel.edu

10/25/2018 1:30pm Thomas Shea New York Institute of Technology tshea@nyit.edu

10/25/2018 8:30am Brianna Montecalvo University of Rhode Island bmontecalvo@uri.edu

10/26/2018 11:30am Suzanne Miller SUNY College at Geneseo millersu@geneseo.edu

10/30/2018 8:00am Rudy Favard Lehigh University ruf218@lehigh.edu

10/30/2018 9:00am Kristi McAuliffe LIU - Post kristi.mcauliffe@liu.edu

11/2/2018 8:30am Dominic Burkett College of William & Mary drburkett@wm.edu

Big picture
Big picture