Theories: Learning Characteristics

By Bret Snider

Piaget Theory

Piaget Theory is centered around 4 stages of cognitive development. The sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete operational and formal operational period. All four of these things are attained through early childhood education.

In my classroom kids practice these cognitive skills by asking questions. Kids have the opportunity to work others, where they display patience. They understand that different kids think differently and have different ideas that can benefit the group as a whole.

The main idea that we can take away from Piaget, is that childhood education plays a vital role in the cognitive process of children. Piaget theory is known as the developmental stage.

Big image
Big image

Vygotsky's Theory

Vygotsky's theory is centered around social development. The theory is based on social interaction and how it affects socialization and social behavior.

There are two different areas where this social development takes place. In short, one way is where kids work with others, and the other way is when kids work alone.

In my classroom these two areas are displayed. Kids have group projects, where they collaborate to build for example a roller coaster out of toilet paper tubes and tape. However, they also have projects where they work alone. Some kids strengths are their ability to work with others. Other kids, work better alone.

Big image

Gardner Theory

Gardner's theory is known as the multiple intelligence theory. Gardner argues that IQ tests do not effectively measure intelligence. His idea is centered around many different facets of learning styles. There are linguistic, visual, musical, interpersonal, and logical learners.

In my classroom, children have the opportunity to learn in all of these ways. They have the capabilities to learn things in the way they best learn.

Big image

Kohlberg Theory

Kohlberg's theory is known as the Theory of Moral Development. This theory actually came from apart of Piaget's theory of moral reasoning. This theory is centered around, like Piaget's, the importance of early childhood education and how it can be affected.

In my classroom kids have the opportunity to learn in different ways and socialize with each other.

Big image

Erikson Theory

Erikson outlined stages of psychosocial development, it's a theory that has 8 stages.

Big image
In my classroom the kids ages are 5 to 12. In saying that this will just focus on industry vs. inferiority.

Industry is the idea that what happens in childrens early stages have a long term affect on the childs life.

Inferiority is the idea that parents need to continue to encourage their children through difficult tasks.