St. Columba's Primary School

NEWSLETTER | TERM 2 | WEEK 2 | 29 APRIL 2021

Big picture

Hail Mary, Full of Grace, The Lord is with thee.

Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now, and at the hour of death.

Amen.

From the Principal

Dear St Columba’s school community,


After a weekend in lockdown, it was wonderful to hear that the COVID-19 guidelines were eased to allow school to continue as normal this week. Despite the fact some ongoing restrictions still need to be adhered to, I am very thankful for the ongoing cooperation and willingness of our school community to work with us as we continue to navigate our way through the challenges of COVID-19.


Thankfully, before the lockdown was announced, we held a very moving and reflective ANZAC Day Liturgy. Our special guest, Mr Ross Fischer, President of South Perth RSL, was very impressed by the service and the respectful nature of our students. A large number of poppies were sold in the morning with all monies donated to the RSL. Thank you to Mrs Gemma Lucas and Mrs Fran Poole for organising a beautiful service. Well done to our Year 3 students who did a magnificent job hosting the liturgy.


A big thank you to the P&F for the new cubby house for the Kindergarten playground. The students were very excited and impressed on Friday as they watched it being built. The nature playground in Pre-Primary is also getting a makeover with a wonderful new addition also being built. Everyone is looking forward to playing in this area once it is completed. As a school community, we are very lucky to have a dedicated P&F committee that provide these things for our students.


Wishing everyone an enjoyable weekend.


God Bless


Rebecca Clarke

Principal

Big picture

Merit award winners - Friday, 7 May (re-scheduled from 30 April)

Year 1G - Asha, Esther

Year 1W - Lucas R, Samuel

Year 2G - Xavier, Marielle

Year 2W - Kapil, Sophia

Year 3G - Matilda, Michael

Year 3W - Denim, Marcus

Year 4G - Caeli, Aidan L

Year 4W - Nate, Ethan

Year 5G - Madeleine, Isobel

Year 5W - Tye, Cait

Year 6 - Bridie, Finley

Important dates

Friday, 30 April - Year 1G Assembly - Postponed

Monday, 3 May - Eucharist Parent Evening held at St Columba's Church at 6pm -

Compulsory at least one parent for each candidate

Tuesday, 4 May - Confirmation Parent Evening held at St Columba's Church at 6pm -

Compulsory at least one parent for each candidate

Thursday, 6 May - Kiss and Drive will be closed in the morning.

Thursday, 6 May - Mothers Day Breakfast at 7.30am

Thursday, 6 May - Mothers Day Liturgy at 9am - St Columba's Church

Friday, 7 May - Year 1G Assembly

Sunday, 9 May - Mothers Day

Tuesday, 11 May - NAPLAN Begins

Friday, 14 May - Year 2G Assembly



Sunday, 16 May - First Holy Communion Mass - 4W at 9.30am

Saturday, 22 May - Confirmation Mass at 6pm

Sunday, 30 May - First Holy Communion Mass - 4G at 9.30am

Big picture
Big picture

Project Compassion

Project Compassion boxes must be returned by Thursday, 20th May.

Performing Arts Festival - Solo and duet entries now due

All solo or duet entries for the Catholic Performing Arts Festival are due by the end of Week 2, Term 2.

Canteen Roster - Week commencing 5 May

Wednesday - Julie Hyde

Thursday - Katherine Higgins

Friday -

If you are on roster and are unable to make your roster day, please endeavour to find a replacement and advise Maria immediately via phone or email.

Library Roster - Week commencing 3 May

Monday - Lara Tulett

Wednesday - Chia Sim

Scholastic Book Club

Book Club online orders are due by Wednesday, 5 May 2021

Circle of Security Parenting Workshops - Wed 12 May

Come along to find out about Circle of Security Parenting and a series of workshops to follow, focusing upon how to connect and maintain safe, secure relationships in which your child may thrive.

Date: Wednesday 12th May 9 - 10am. Register to attend. Please see the flyer below.

Big picture
Big picture

Footy Tipping

Hello Parents and Families,


A big game awaits WA footy fans this week with the Derby and can Freo snap their historic losing streak, if recent form is to go by they should!

Current Leader Board

Four way tie at the top of the leader board on 27 points between:

Amelie D (Captain Shuey)

David B (Binns Clan)

Ben B (BenBristow18)

Todd D (Goal Sneak)


With another two tipsters on 26 points:

Pat D (Freo’Donovan)

Mark S (Scarymans)


Round 6 Winner

Goal Sneak with 7 and 3 point margin


Get your tips in with Richmond playing the red hot Western Bulldogs starting the round on Friday night.


Happy Tipping

Todd Dawson

Big picture
Big picture

P&F Meetings

Tuesday, 1 June at 7pm

Tuesday, 3 August at 7pm

Tuesday, 31 August at 7pm

Tuesday, 19 October at 7pm

School Advisory Council Meetings

Wednesday, 12 May at 7pm

Wednesday, 16 June at 7pm

Wednesday, 11 August at 7pm

Wednesday, 8 September at 7pm

Wednesday, 27 October at 7pm

School Term Dates

Term 2: Tuesday, 20 April to Thursday, 1 July

Term 3: Tuesday, 20 July to Friday, 24 September

Term 4: Tuesday, 12 October to Friday, 10 December

Pupil Free Days

Term 2: Tuesday, 8 June. Friday, 2 July.

Term 3: Monday, 19 July

Term 4: Monday, 11 October