Canary Islands

Islands: Hierro, La Palma, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, Tenerife, La Gomera.

Islands: Hierro: the westernmost island, covers 268.71 km², making it the smallest of the major islands, and the least populous with 10,753 inhabitants. The whole island was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 2000. Its capital is Valverde. Also known as Ferro, it was once believed to be the westernmost land in the world.
Fuerteventura: with a surface of 1,660 km², is the second-most extensive island of the archipelago, as well as the second most oriental. It has been declared a Biosphere Reserve by Unesco. It has a population of 100,929. Being also the most ancient of the islands, it is the one that is more eroded: its highest point is the Peak of the Bramble, at a height of 807 m. Its capital is Puerto del Rosario.
Gran canaria: has 845,676 inhabitants. The capital, Las Palmas, is the most populous city and shares the status of capital of the Canaries with Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Gran Canaria's surface area is 1,560 km². In center of the island lie the Roque Nublo and Pico de las Nieves ("Peak of Snow"). In the south of island are the Maspalomas Dunes (Gran Canaria), these are the biggest tourist attractions.
La gomera: La gomera, has an area of 369.76 km² and is the second least populous island with 22,622 inhabitants. Geologically it is one of the oldest of the archipelago. The insular capital is San Sebastian de la Gomera. Garajonay's National Park is here.

Lanzarote: Lanzarote, is the easternmost island and one of the most ancient of the archipelago, and it has shown evidence of recent volcanic activity. It has a surface of 845.94 km², and a population of 139,506 inhabitants including the adjacent islets of the Chinijo Archipelago. The capital is Arrecife, with 56,834 inhabitants.
La Palma: La palma, with 86,528 inhabitants, covering an area of 708.32 km² is in its entirety a biosphere reserve. It shows no recent signs of volcanic activity, even though the volcano Teneguia entered into eruption last in 1971. In addition, it is the second-highest island of the Canaries, with the Roque de los Muchachos as highest point. Santa Cruz de la Palma is its capital.
Tenerife: Tenerife is, with its area of 2,034 km², the most extensive island of the Canary Islands. In addition, with 906,854 inhabitants it is the most populated island of the archipelago and Spain. Two of the islands' principal cities are located on it: The capital, Santa Cruz de Tenerife and San Cristobal de Tenerife(a World Heritage Site). San Cristóbal de La Laguna, the second city of the island is home to the oldest university in the Canary Islands. The Teide, with its 3,718 m is the highest peak of Spain and also a World Heritage Site.

Big image

Carnival of Las Palmas

Friday, Feb. 1st 2013 at 12am to Friday, March 1st 2013 at 12am

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, CN

The carnival of Las Palmas are the most famous carnivales in Spain. It`s celebrated the months February and March.
Big image


The canary islands two main football team in the islands are: Tenerife and Las Palmas