Title I District Newsletter

FALL 2022

Welcome Back!

We are so happy to have you and your students back in our schools! We hope that you are "falling" back into your routines.

Parent Involvement Coordinators (P.I.C)

Which schools are Title I Schools and who are the Parent Involvement Coordinators?

Each of our Title I schools has a Parent Involvement Coordinator. They are a resource to all of our parents! Please reach out to them for information and ways to help at your child's school.

Battlefield Elementary-Andra Herpst aherpst.bes@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Battlefield Primary-Cherry Stephenson cstephenson.bps@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Cloud Springs Elementary-Kathy Honeycutt khoneycutt.cse@catoosa.k12.ga.us

West Side Elementary-Katie Blankenship kblankenship.wse@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Lakeview Middle School-Stacey Newwell snewell.lms@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Graysville Elementary-Marissa Watson mwatson.gse@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Ringgold Primary-Tracy Wilson

twilson.rps@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Ringgold Elementary-Cathy Cooper ccooper.res@catoosa.k12.gs.us

Ringgold Middle School-Amy Blankenship ablankenship.rms@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Tiger Creek Elementary-Carrie Webster cwebster.tce@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Wood Station Elementary-Mitzi Mew mmew.wse@catoosa.k12.ga.us

What is Title I?


The Title I, Part A division at the Georgia Department of Education provides technical assistance, resources, and program monitoring to local education agencies (LEAs) in order to ensure all children have a “significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education, and to close educational achievement gaps" (ESSA, Section 1001).​

PAC meetings and Volunteer Orientations

PAC(Parent Advisory Council) meetings and Volunteer Orientations have been happening at our schools. It is an opportunity for you to learn more about your child's school and give input into our Title I program. If you weren't able to attend we will happily send you the information!

What is Catoosa F.A.S.T? Family and School Teams!

F.A.S.T stands for Family And School Teams. Several of our schools have curriculum night meetings. They may be called Catoosa FAST or the school may call it a name that is personal to them. Our goal for the meeting is for parents to leave knowing their child's benchmark testing score and ways to help them. During these meetings your child's teacher will review the compact, show both a reading and math benchmark graph, a grade level goal sheet and introduce a take home activity. Please take part in these meetings when they are available. They may be virtual so you can view them at your leisure or in person. The Parent Involvement Coordinator (PIC) also makes each child a packet that goes along with the meeting so you are able to follow along and learn ways to help your child!

Can I volunteer and what do I have to do?

We love having volunteers in our schools! A common misconception is that it takes a lot of time to volunteer. We welcome you to volunteer the amount of time and days that work for you. We are just grateful for your willingness to help us out. We also understand that some of our parents work and have busy schedules. You can still volunteer! There are several ways that we can accommodate your schedule. We can send things home for you to cut out or organize. We can ask you to help with special events. We also welcome your ideas and talents. Coming to your students FAST meetings and other school events is also a form of support. I encourage you to get in touch with your school's PIC (Parent Involvement Coordinator) for opportunities to help out. They can help to get you involved!

Compacts are coming home!

Your school may have already sent home compacts or will be sending them home in the next week. Please review the compact and sign the signature sheet that is attached. These compacts are promises between the teacher, student, and parent to ensure that we are all working together to ensure academic success for the student. The compacts were made using the input from parents, teachers, and our students and are specific to your school. They also contain the school goals and district goals so you will be informed on what we are hoping to achieve. Compacts are reviewed throughout the year in conferences and FAST meetings. So you will see them again!

Did you know that you can request a meeting with your child's teacher at anytime?

Title I believes that parent and family engagement means the participation of parents in regular, two-way, and meaningful communication involving student academic learning and other school activities. Our schools host regular meetings throughout the year to facilitate this process. In addition to these meetings, parents have the right to request additional meetings and workshops they feel will benefit their child. The Parent Involvement Coordinator will take requests to the administration to see how these requests can be incorporated into the school’s Plan of Action. Also, parents can request a meeting with their child’s teacher or the administration if they have questions or concerns about their child. Parents can call their child's school or email the teacher via the school website.

Check out our District Policy

If you have any input or questions about our District Policy you can email me at kjablonski@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Contact information

If you have any input or questions about our Title I program feel free to contact us.

Kristy Jablonski District Family Engagement Coordinator kjablonski@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Steve Smith District Family Engagement Coordinator sesmith@catoosa.k12.ga.us

Gina Haynes Federal Programs Director ghaynes@catoosa.k12.ga.us