MHSN Announcements

June 1 - June 23

Our Goal

The goal and purpose of MHSN Announcements is to share weekly highlights including co-curricular clubs, sports, fundraisers, and news from Middletown High School North.


Have a wonderful day!

QUICK LINKS

MHSN Co-Curricular Offerings 2020-21

What to see what Midd North has to offer? Check out all of our co-curricular options here!

MHSN Spring Sports Calendar

Want to see what teams are playing this week? Check out Midd North's Winter Sports Schedule.

MTPS Athletics Events Available via NFHS Network

On demand live streams of our high school athletics events are available via subscription to the NFHS Network.

To stream MTPS athletics events please visit the NFHS Network website.

Chrome Book Repair and Replacement Guidelines

On an in-person schedule day, students should bring their chromebook to Mr. Guthrie in the media center to arrange for a device swap. Our completely virtual students or parents must use the form link to schedule an appointment for a device swap.

Senior Breakfast News Segment
May 26, 2021
Want more North TV/Film Production highlights?

Check out videos and interviews created by North's amazing TV/Film Production students.

Do you still have textbooks, classroom books, or library books from last school year?

Big picture

NORTH SHOUTOUTS

2020-21 Applied Arts and Design Show

Dear Friends,


I would like to share with you the 2020-2021 Applied Arts and Design I and II Visual Arts Show for Middletown High School North. In a challenging year, our students demonstrated strength, perseverance, creativity, and growth. While the rules and standards within the art room limited our general use of multi-media, next year, in what will (hopefully) be a “normalized” learning environment, we look forward to working again with a variety of mediums, such as clay and plaster. I also hope to have the show live again in the North's library as we have traditionally done for the past 17 years.

Enjoy the show!


(Click below: then click on the highlighted link to hear the music and have the slides advance automatically or use the QR code below!)


2020-21 Applied Arts and Design Show


Sincerely,


Carin Kuzmin

Middletown High School North

Applied Arts and Design Educator

Big picture

Congrats to our Brookdale Community College Early College Academy Graduates!

Congratulations to Michael Murphy, Jessica Uraga, & Connor North on their graduation from Brookdale Community College before they even graduated high school! North is so proud of you and we know you are going to go on to do amazing things!
Big picture

National Honor Society Induction - RESCHEDULED TO 06/09/21

Big picture

NHS Tutoring and Information

Big picture

NEHS Tutoring for English and History

Big picture

HSN Science National Honor Society

The Science National Honor Society took on as a goal this year, spreading the word about science particularly to younger students. It is their hope that they can get those students excited about science as they enter high school. In order to help facilitate this, they created a Youtube page where they uploaded videos of themselves performing some of their favorite science experiments. Most are doable at home.


The students are also willing to do online tutoring and/or work with any student who may need help in their science class.

Contact Mr. Kalman for your tutoring needs!

kalmanr@middletownk12.org

Check out what Middletown Public Library has to offer HSN Students!

Big picture

MHSN Co-Curricular Happenings

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Academic Team Mrs. Kostas & Mrs. Piazza

Next Meeting: THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Kostas and Mrs. Piazza

Email: kostasv@middletownk12.org

piazzas@middletownk12.org

BMAP - Mrs. Pearson

Next Meeting: THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Pearson


Email: pearsonja@MiddletownK12.org

Chess Club

Next Meeting: THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!


Keep an eye out for upcoming meetings and new advisor!


Advisor(s): Mrs. McGowan

Email: mcgowana@middletownk12.org

Concert Band - Mrs. Lyon

Next Meeting: THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Lyon


Email: LyonB@MiddletownK12.org

Dance Team - Mrs. Mahoney

Next Meeting: THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!


Advisor(s): Mrs. T. Mahoney


Email: MahoneyT@Middletownk12.org

DECA - Mrs. Heeter

Next Meeting: THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!


Advisor(s): Ms. Heeter


Email: HeeterS@MiddletownK12.org

Diversity Club - Ms. Reyes

Next Meeting: THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!


Advisor(s): Ms. Reyes

Email: reyesje@middletownk12.org

Drama Club - Ms. Faria

Next Meeting: Thursday, June 10th 2:15 PM


End-of-the-year celebration and announcement of officers


Advisor(s): Ms. Faria


Email: fariaa@middletownk12.org

Environmental Science Club - Ms. Wellington & Mrs. Woods

Next Meeting: Tuesday, 06/15 2:10 PM - CAMPUS CLEAN UP. VOLUNTEER HOURS AVAILABLE!


Advisor(s): Mrs. J. Woods & Ms. C Wellington


Email: WoodsJ@MiddletownK12.org

wellingtonc@middletownk12.org

FBLA - Mrs. Kirschbaum

Next Meeting: Monday, April 26th 2:00pm & Monday, May 3rd 2:00pm


Advisor(s): Mrs. Kirschbaum (Competitions)


Email: KirschbaumS@Middletownk12.org

French Honor Society - Mrs. Jones

We are currently doing a fundraiser that will support our future events. Please support! Here is the link: https://needsyoursupport.org/share/113156/47297.


Next Meeting: TBD - April 2021


Advisor(s): Mrs. Jones


Email: JonesD@middletownk12.org

Freshman-Sophomore Council - Mrs. Van Etten & Mrs. Figurelli (Ms. Smith)

Next Meeting: April 28 2:00pm


KRISPY KREME FUNDRAISER GOING ON NOW!


Advisor(s): Mrs. VanEtten & Mrs. Figurelli (Ms. Smith)

Mrs. Van Etten - vanettenj@middletownk12.org

Mrs. Figurelli - figurellikai@middletownk12.org

GSA - Mrs. Coulson

Next Meeting: TBD - April 2021


Advisor(s): Mrs. Coulson


Email: coulsona@middletownk12.org

Heroes and Cool Kids - Ms. Duca & Mrs. Figurelli

Last Meeting: TBD - April 2021


Advisor(s): Ms. Duca & Mrs. Figurelli

Email: Mrs. Figurelli - figurellikai@middletownk12.org Ms. Duca - ducaj@middletownk12.org

Italian Honor Society - Mrs. Fielding

Follow us on Instagram - @mhsn_ihs2020


Next Meeting: Tuesday, 4/6 2:02 PM & Tuesday, 4/13 2:02 PM


The Fun Pasta Fundraiser is still open! Order Now!


**World Language Induction Ceremony April 22nd at 7pm**


Advisor(s): Mrs. Fielding


Email: Fieldingj@middletownk12.org

Jazz/Pep Band - Mrs. Lyon

Next Meeting: TBD - April 2021


Advisor(s): Mrs. Lyon


Email: LyonB@MiddletownK12.org

Key Club - Mrs. Hill & Mr. Sedlak

Next Meeting: Wednesday, May 5th at 2:15 PM


Advisor(s): Mr. Sedlak & Mrs. Hill


Email: SedlakK@MiddletownK12.org

hille@middletownk12.org

Latin Honor Society - Mrs. Rath

Next Meeting: Thursday, April 8th at 2:10 PM & Thursday, April 15th at 2:10 PM


Advisor(s): Mrs. Rath


Email: RathL@MiddletownK12.org

Maker Club - Mr. Alston and Mrs. Lippincott

THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR! WE LOOK FORWARD TO WORKING WITH YOU NEXT YEAR!


Google Classroom Code: 57zrz2q


Advisor(s): Mr. Alston & Mrs. Lippincott


Email: Alstond@middletownk12.org

Lippincottl@middletownk12.org

Math Club - Mrs. Vande Creek

Students should check the Math Club Classroom. Reach out to Ms. Vande Creek with any questions.


Next Meeting: Thursday, May 20th 2:02 PM & Thursday, May 27th 2:02 PM


Advisor(s): Mrs. Vandecreek


Email: VandeCreekT@MiddletownK12.org

National Honor Society - Ms. Elsbree

Next Meeting: TBD


NHS Induction: Tuesday, June 8th at 6PM


Advisor(s): Ms. Elsbree


Email: elsbrees@middletownk12.org

Newspaper Club - Mr. Scala and Mrs. Van Etten

Next Meetings: Wednesday, April 28th 2:00 PM & Wednesday, May 5th 2:00 PM


Lions Roar Senior Edition


Advisor(s): Mr. Scala & Mrs. VanEtten


Email: Scalaj@middletownk12.org

Vanettenj@middletownk12.org

Peer Leaders - Mrs. Krol

Next Meeting: Thursday, April 15th 2:00 PM


We are currently working to plan a "Virtual Orientation," for incoming students. Peer leadership will be pairing with Civic Leadership to create a video which will highlight key classrooms, programs, and activities we have at MHSN.


Advisor(s): Mrs. Cheryl Krol


Email: Krolc@middletownk12.org

Science Honor Society - Mr. Kalman

Next Meeting: Wednesday, April 7th 5:00 PM


Advisor(s): Mr. Kalman


Email: KalmanR@MiddletownK12.org

Science Team - St. Clair, Foulks, Draesel

Advisor(s): Mr. Draesel (Biology), Mr. Foulks (Physics), Mr. St. Clair (Chemistry)


Email: FoulksG@MiddletownK12.org

Draesele@middletownk12.org

StClairT@MiddletownK12.org

Senior Class Council - Ms. Friedland

Next Meeting: TBD - April 2021


Advisor(s): Ms. Friedland

Email: Friedlandp@middletownk12.org

Spanish Honor Society - Mrs. Kostas

Next Meeting: Wednesday, May 19th at 2:10 PM



Advisor(s): Mrs. Kostas

Email: Kostasv@MiddletownK12.org

STEM Pathway

Last Meeting: TBD - April 2021 & Look for New Advisor Info Soon!


Advisor(s):

Email:

Student Government - Mr. Scala

Next Meetings: Thursday, April 29th 2:02 PM & Thursday, May 16th 2:02 PM


Hall of Champions


Advisor(s): Mr. Scala

Email: ScalaJ@MiddletownK12.org

Technology Club / eSports Team - Mr. Alston and Mrs. Lippincott

THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR! WE LOOK FORWARD TO WORKING WITH YOU NEXT YEAR!


Google Classroom Code fjqq4b6


Advisor(s): Mr. Alston & Mrs. Lippincott

Email: Alstond@middletownk12.org

Lippincottl@middletownk12.org

Tri-M Music Honor Society - Mrs. Lyon & Mr. Isherwood

Next Meeting: TBD - April 2021


Advisor(s): Mrs. Lyon & Mr. Isherwood

Email: LyonB@MiddletownK12.org

IsherwoodP@MiddletownK12.org

Viewpoint Digital Media Club - Mrs. Goldfarb

Viewpoint, Middletown North's digital media club features student art, poetry, and photography. Please check out our truly talented student work showcased on Instagram. Follow us @mhsnviewpoint.


Next Meetings: Tuesday, May 18th 2:05 PM & Tuesday, May 25th 2:05 PM

The club meets virtually on Tuesdays at 2pm and anyone is welcome to join.


Use classroom code nfozv76.


Advisor(s): Mrs. Goldfarb

Email: Goldfarbm@middletownk12.org

Yearbook Club - Mr. Alston

Google Classroom Code: 2w2yc5i


Follow the MHSN Polaris Yearbook Staff on Instagram and Twitter @MHSNYearbook to be kept informed and share your yearbook ideas, images, and inspirations.


Next Meetings: April 2021 - Working lab times


Advisor(s): Mr. Alston


Email: Alstond@MiddletownK12.org