MHSN Announcements

November 2021

Our Goal

The goal and purpose of MHSN Announcements is to share weekly highlights including co-curricular clubs, sports, fundraisers, and news from Middletown High School North.


Have a wonderful day!

QUICK LINKS

MHSN Co-Curricular Offerings 2021-22

What to see what Midd North has to offer? Check out all of our co-curricular options here!

MHSN Fall Sports Calendar

Want to see what teams are playing this week? Check out Midd North's Fall Sports Schedule.

MTPS Athletics Events Available via NFHS Network

On demand live streams of our high school athletics events are available via subscription to the NFHS Network.

To stream MTPS athletics events please visit the NFHS Network website.

Chrome Book Repair, Replacement, Loaner & Charging Station Guidelines

Chromebook Repairs and Replacements

Students may visit the Library-Media Center during the school day to have their Chromebooks replaced or repaired. Mr. Guthrie is available before and during most school days.


Chromebook Loaners and Charging

Students may borrow and charge Chromebooks in the Library-Media Center throughout the school day. Simply send them down and they can sign out a loaner or leave their devices on the charging station found on the LMC circulation desk. We DO NOT and CANNOT loan CB chargers at this time.

Want more North TV/Film Production highlights?

Check out videos and interviews created by North's amazing TV/Film Production students.

News #2 2021-2022

Fundraisers, Fun, & Things to Know

Italian Honor Society Cookie Dough Sale

Nothing says Fall like cookies! The Italian Honor Society is selling cookie dough and there are tons of delicious flavors to choose from. Just Click on the link below to place your order and thank you for support the Italian Honor Society!


Click here for the Cookie Dough Sale

November 8-12 is National School Psychology Week 2021!

Check out the details below!

This year's theme is "Let’s Get in GEAR." (Grow, Engage, Advocate, Rise).

Big picture
Big picture

State of NJ Seal of Biliteracy Test Dates for Seniors December 2021

Seal of Biliteracy Test dates:

Tuesday, 12/7 and Wednesday 12/8 - Time TBD

HSN Library-Media Center

SPANISH SEAL OF BILITERACY PRACTICE OPPORTUNITY - 11/23/21

Tuesday, November 23rd at 2:02 PM

Join Mrs. DeMaria for a practice session for students testing in Spanish for the upcoming Seal of Biliteracy.


Google Classroom: 2bxauic

NORTH SHOUTOUTS

2021 Fall Art Walk

2021 Fall artwork was a success! Special thank you to: Mr. Graziano, Mrs. Walker, Mr. Kirkpatrick, Mr. Rinella, Mrs. Pickus, Dr. Falco, Dr. Morales, Mr. Welsh, Ms. Burtt, and Mrs. Van Glahn for the personal visit to North’s classroom!


Stop by to see the artwork created in the first few weeks of school!

Big picture

MHSN Co-Curricular Meetings

A Capella Choir

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mr. Isherwood

Email: IsherwoodP@MiddletownK12.org

Academic Team - Mrs. Jones

Next Meeting:

The first competition is October 22nd!


Google Classroom: k4xjeyt


Advisor(s): Mrs. Jones

Email: JonesD@middletownk12.org

Bottlecappers Club

Next Meeting: Check Classroom Announcements for Meeting Information!!


Google Classroom: beb2v7g


Advisor: Mrs. Coulson & Dr. Teehan

Email: Coulsona@middletownk12.org, TeehanK@Middletownk12.org

BMAP - Mrs. Pearson

Next Meeting:

Tony Perry will be our first speaker on October 26 from 10:15 - 10:45


Join the Google Link from our Google Classroom if you can not attend in person

Google Classroom: p3vuuc4


Advisor(s): Mrs. Pearson

Email: pearsonja@MiddletownK12.org

Chess Club

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Dr. Teehan


Email: TeehanK@Middletownk12.org

Concert Band - Mrs. Lyon

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Lyon

Email: LyonB@MiddletownK12.org

Dance Team - Mrs. Mahoney

Next Meeting: Monday, 11/22 at 2:10pm


Sponsored by MHSN Dance Team Our giving tree is back this year and will be set up outside the main office entrance. We are looking for hats, gloves, mittens, scarfs, socks Please drop all donations off beginning 11/22 through 12/20. Donations will be given to Holiday Express for distribution. Thank you in advance for your support and contributions! Happy Holidays! T. Mahoney & The MHSN Dancers


Advisor(s): Mrs. T. Mahoney

Email: MahoneyT@Middletownk12.org

DECA - Mrs. Heeter

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Ms. Heeter

Email: HeeterS@MiddletownK12.org

Digital Media Club Viewpoint - Mrs. Goldfarb

Viewpoint, Middletown North's digital media club features student art, poetry, and photography. Please check out our truly talented student work showcased on Instagram. Follow us @mhsnviewpoint.


Next Meetings: Tues, November 16th 2:05 PM


The club meets on Tuesdays at 2:05 pm and anyone is welcome to join.


Use classroom code nfozv76.


Advisor(s): Mrs. Goldfarb

Email: Goldfarbm@middletownk12.org

Diversity Club - Ms. Reyes

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month


Advisor(s): Ms. Reyes

Email: reyesje@middletownk12.org

Drama Club - Ms. Faria

Next Meeting: Thursday, October 21st at 2:05 pm


Google Classroom Code: g3dpfga


Advisor(s): Ms. Faria

Email: fariaa@middletownk12.org

Environmental Science Club - Mrs. J. Woods & Mrs. D. Spisak

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Google Classroom: s2wsqaw


Advisor(s): Mrs. J. Woods & Mrs. D. Spisak

Email: WoodsJ@MiddletownK12.org, spisakd@middletownk12.org

Esports Club

Next Meeting: Thursday, November 11th 2:15 pm in the Library Media Center


Advisor(s): Mr. Alston

Email: Alstond@middletownk12.org

MSHN eSports Team Classroom Code: 5idvwn5

Discord: https://discord.gg/dTueYb

Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA)

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Ms. Hanson (Fashion) & Mrs. Sandone (Culinary Arts)

Email: SandoneM@MiddletownK12.org, hansonme@middletownk12.org

FBLA - Mrs. Kirschbaum

Next Meeting: Monday, 11/15 at 2:02 pm & Monday, 11/30 at 2:02 pm


Advisor(s): Mrs. Kirschbaum (Competitions)

Email: KirschbaumS@Middletownk12.org

FEA - Future Educators of America

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Join the Google Link from our Google Classroom

Google Classroom: xqdhfw4


Advisor(s): Mrs. Pearson

Email: PearsonJa@MiddletownK12.org

French Honor Society - Mrs. Jones

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Jones

Email: JonesD@middletownk12.org

Freshman-Sophomore Council - Mrs. Van Etten & Mrs. Figurelli (Ms. Smith)

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Class of 2025 Apparel Link is now live--support the Freshman Class by purchasing some North gear. https://mhsn2025.itemorder.com/sale


Google Classroom Code: jazlfgg


Advisor(s): Mrs. VanEtten & Mrs. Figurelli (Ms. Smith)

Mrs. Van Etten - vanettenj@middletownk12.org

Mrs. Figurelli - figurellikai@middletownk12.org

GSA - Mrs. Coulson

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!

Google Classroom: q453664


Advisor(s): Mrs. Coulson

Email: coulsona@middletownk12.org

Heroes and Cool Kids - Ms. Duca & Mrs. Figurelli

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Ms. Duca & Mrs. Figurelli

Email: Mrs. Figurelli - figurellikai@middletownk12.org Ms. Duca - ducaj@middletownk12.org

Italian Honor Society - Mrs. Fielding

Follow us on Instagram - @mhsn_ihs2020


Google Classroom Code: pn7pvqi


Next Meeting: Coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Fielding

Email: Fieldingj@middletownk12.org

Jazz/Pep Band - Mrs. Lyon

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Lyon

Email: LyonB@MiddletownK12.org

Junior Class Council

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Ms. Wilton & Ms. DeGrushe, Room 1419

Email: wiltonk@middletownk12.org, degrushem@middletownk12.org

Key Club - Mr. Sedlak & Mr. Sirchio

Next Meeting: Wednesday, 11/24


The Key Club will be continuing to work with Middletown Helps it's own by providing donations. We are also helping with setting up the North Pole this year which will be held on December 11th from 10am-1pm in the MHSN Media Center.


Google Classroom: eoppoz5


Advisor(s): Mr. Sedlak & Mr. Sirchio

Email: SedlakK@MiddletownK12.org, sirchiom@middletownk12.org

Latin Honor Society - Mrs. Rath

Next Meeting: Next meeting info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Rath

Email: RathL@MiddletownK12.org

Maker Club - Mrs. Lippincott

Next Meeting: Tuesday, November 23rd at 2:05pm in the Library-Media Center


Google Classroom Code 4adgktp


Advisor(s): Mrs. Lippincott

Email: Lippincottl@middletownk12.org

Math Club - Mrs. Vande Creek

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Google Classroom: 32cktvf


Advisor(s): Mrs. Vandecreek

Email: VandeCreekT@MiddletownK12.org

Big picture

Mock Trial (Forensics)

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Join the Google Link from our Google Classroom

Google Classroom: v74tisj


Advisor(s): Mrs. Pearson

Email: PearsonJa@MiddletownK12.org

Model United Nations

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Google Classroom: clq67ua


Remind: Text @northMUN to 81010


Advisor(s): Mrs. Kelly & Mrs. Kirschbaum

Email: Kellypa@middletownk12.org, KirschbaumS@Middletownk12.org

National Business Honor Society

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Pearson & Susan Heeter

Email: PearsonJa@MiddletownK12.org, HeeterS@middletownk12.org

National Honor Society - Ms. Elsbree

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Ms. Elsbree

Email: elsbrees@middletownk12.org

Newspaper Club - Mr. Scala and Mrs. Van Etten

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mr. Scala & Mrs. VanEtten

Email: Scalaj@middletownk12.org

Vanettenj@middletownk12.org

Peer Leaders - Mrs. Jen Smith

Next Meeting: Updated info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Jen Smith

Email: smithje@middletownk12.org

Science Honor Society - Mr. Kalman & Mr. Draesal

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mr. Kalman & Mr. Draesal

Email: KalmanR@MiddletownK12.org

draesele@middletownk12.org

Science Club - Mr. St. Clair

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Google Classroom: r6bl5zf


Advisor(s): Mr. St. Clair

Email: StClairT@MiddletownK12.org

Self-Defense Club - Mr. Milnes

Next Meeting: Monday, October 25th at 2:15 pm


Google Classroom: zuxhm2p


Advisor(s): Mr. Milnes

Email: milnespe@middletownk12.org

Senior Class Council - Ms. Friedland

Next Meeting:

Tues, November 16, Wed, November 17, Thurs, November 18 - Ticket Sales 10:15 AM

We will be selling homecoming VIP dance tent tickets November 9-11th and 16-18th.


Homecoming dance/bonfire will be November 23rd 6-9PM.


Google Classroom: g3vepmi


Haunted Woods will be held October 22nd.


Advisor(s): Ms. Friedland

Email: Friedlandp@middletownk12.org

Spanish Honor Society - Mrs. Kostas

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mrs. Kostas

Email: Kostasv@MiddletownK12.org

STEM Pathway

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Dr. Teehan

Email: Teehank@middletownk12.org

Student Government - Mr. Scala

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mr. Scala

Email: ScalaJ@MiddletownK12.org

Tech Club - Mrs. Lippincott

Next Meeting: Thursday, November 18 and Thursday, November 30th at 2:05 pm in the Library-Media Center


Google Classroom Code 4adgktp


Advisor(s): Mrs. Lippincott

Email: Lippincottl@middletownk12.org

TV Production Club

Next Meeting: Info coming soon!


Advisor(s): Mr. Cullen

Email: Cullenc@middletownk12.org

Yearbook Club - Mr. Alston


Next Meetings: Monday, October 18th at 2:15 PM in Room 1012


Google Classroom Code: rljzhjn


Follow the MHSN Polaris Yearbook Staff on Instagram and Twitter @MHSNYearbook to be kept informed and share your yearbook ideas, images, and inspirations.


Advisor(s): Mr. Alston

Email: Alstond@MiddletownK12.org