Audubon Elementary News

September 2015

Welcome Back!

Welcome to a wonderful new school year at Audubon! Although it was an adjustment, starting before Labor Day has allowed us to jump right in to learning. I am delighted to see how quickly students have learned new routines and are working diligently to show their Audubon PRIDE! Our school wide theme this year is both a show of how much we enjoy our school community and all that we accomplish here and a system for us to grow as citizens of Audubon and the larger community. The P in PRIDE stands for "persevering" and this month we are helping our students to learn this important skill. I look forward to working with all of you in helping our children learn and grow.

Drop off and Pick Up Reminders

When driving your child in or picking him up, please remember to stay in your car and have children enter and exit your vehicle on to the sidewalk. If you need to get out of your car with your child, please park in a designated parking space. Please do not use the handicapped spaces unless you are appropriately tagged.

Please remember to send a note anytime your child is not going home on their assigned bus. Even if this is an everyday occurrence, the notes ensure that students get to the correct place.

Audubon Staff

Kindergarten- Mrs. Megan Morgan and Ms. Christina Richter

First Grade- Mrs. Cyndi Kirschner, Mrs. Rosemary Miller, Mrs. Kirsten Pearson, Ms. Laura Sawyer, Mrs. Liz Tyson

Second Grade- Mrs. Lori Andrews, Mrs. Becca Flaherty, Mrs. Shannon Clark, Mrs. Pam Craig

Third Grade- Mrs. Darlene Balaguer-Piernock, Mrs. Beth Barndt, Mrs. Lori McCarthy, Ms. Stephanie Sawyer

Fourth Grade- Mrs. Lyn Jennings, Mr. Bert Hogstrom, Mrs. Laura MacCorkle

Special Area- Mr. Mark Horn and Mrs. Meghan Fuga (PE); Ms. Andrea Hahn and Ms. Miranda Coughlan (Music); Mrs. Janet Aureden (Art); Mrs. Dawn Montare and Mrs. Brooke Huebner (Library); Mrs. Stephanie Shuey (Strings); Ms. Erin Trautmann (Band)

Support Teachers- Ms. Dawn Hess (Autistic Support); Ms. Erica Bratt (Emotional Support); Mr. Jordan D'Emilio (3/4 Learning Support); Mrs. Sarah Rappaport (K-2 Learning Support); Mrs. Xenia Zacharczuk (English as a Second Language Support); Ms. Nadine Baumgardner (Speech); Mrs. Kim McDonald (Nurse); Mrs. Yvonne Eglinton (Instructional and Intervention Support); Mrs. Kathy Ochab (Reading Specialist); Mrs. Alonna Johnson (Gifted); Ms. Lori Shaw (School Counselor) Mrs. Taylor Khol (OT); Mrs. Bridget Riley (PT)

Support Staff-Mrs. Katie Donnelly (ES IA); Mrs. Paula Bauer (ESL IA); Mrs. Carol Harrity (3/4 LS IA); Ms. Michelle Albanese (K-2 LS IA); Mrs. Janice Sapporetti (Reading IA); Mrs. Chris Collison (Recess); Mrs. Trish Rubendall and Mrs. Caroline Deininger (Office and Lunch); Mrs. Sophie Noblit (Secretary to the Principal); Mr. Tom Smink (Head Custodian)

Volunteer Policy

The district volunteer policy requires all volunteers to have current Act 34 and 151 Child Abuse clearances as well as a TB test before they are able to volunteer at all for any school event. If you need more information, please contact the main office at 610-489-5000 ext. 42200.


We try to communicate in many ways to keep families informed. Students brought home a packet of paperwork on the first day of school and then every Tuesday for the rest of the school year. Please look for this each week and complete and return any necessary paperwork as soon as possible. We also publish a newsletter monthly and post it on our school website which is another source of information. In addition, we send emails with updates and reminders. Please be sure you sign up to receive all emails. Information about how to sign up or how to update your contact information is available on the district website.