HVCHS Counseling Newsletter

November '21

follow us on twitter / instagram: @HV_Counseling

Parent University (Part 1) - Understanding Adolescent Anxiety

We recently hosted the first workshop in a webinar series we have planned for the year, in partnership with Rutgers University Behavioral Healthcare (UBHC). The first installment focused on Understanding and Reducing Anxiety in Children and Teenagers, a topic of importance and relevance that can't possibly be overstated.


A recording of the program can be found HERE and a copy of the slides that were presented can be found HERE.

College Application Season...

Our counselors are in the thick of assisting their seniors through the college admissions process, as we are in the midst of early application deadlines. We've recently hosted two parent information programs:


  • On September 21st we hosted Senior Planning Night, intended to help students and parents navigate the college application process. For those who were unable to attend, a recording can be viewed HERE.

  • On October 14th we hosted Financial Aid Night, designed to explain the ins and outs of the financial aid process. We were fortunate be joined by Wilbert Casaine, Executive Director of Financial Aid at TCNJ. A recording can be viewed HERE, and Mr. Casaine also kind enough to share his slides.


Please reach out to your child's School Counselor with any questions!

Mercer County Technical School Night

On October 20th we hosted Mercer County Technical School Night. We were fortunate to be joined for the evening by Michael Orfe, MCTS Director of Vocational Education.


MCTS offers a wide array of Shared-Time (half-day) programs for 11th and 12th grade, to which students typically apply during sophomore year. Programs range from Culinary Arts and Cosmetology to Carpentry, Automotive Technology and more. Mr. Orfe also discussed MCTS's full-time Academy programs, which students apply for during 8th grade.


A recording of the program can be found HERE.

PSAT testing & score reports...

Our sophomores and juniors recently participated in PSAT testing. The PSAT is a valuable opportunity to prepare for the "real" SAT, which students typically begin taking during junior year. For the junior class, it is also an opportunity to qualify for the National Merit Scholarship Program.


PSAT score reports (including detailed breakdowns of all correct and incorrect answers) will be available six to eight weeks from test day, typically in early-to-mid December. Scores will be released online through College Board's website, and in order to access scores all students should register for an account ahead of time.


It is very important that when students register with College Board they use the same email address that they entered on their PSAT answer sheet. Parents: if you are creating an account for your child, please be sure to ask them which address they listed.


Additional information regarding PSAT scores can be found here.

Parchment - alumni transcript services

We recently partnered with Parchment to provide streamlined online transcript processing services for our former students.


NOTE: This is NOT how our current students should request transcripts for colleges, summer programs, etc. That process is detailed on our counseling website, and has been explained extensively to our current seniors.

Community Supports

For those in our community who may encounter hard times, we have compiled a reference guide of Family Mental Health Services and Support Organizations. Please contact your School Counselor with any questions, or for more information about these resources.

CHS Counseling Department Calendar...

Here is a snapshot of what we have planned in the CHS Counseling Department this year...


2021-22 CHS Counseling Services Calendar

Contact Info:

HVCHS - 609.737.4003

Mari Buono - School Counselor - mariangelabuono@hvrsd.org x3520

Rachel Curran - School Counselor - rachelcurran@hvrsd.org x3525

Nicole Getman - School Counselor - nicolegetman@hvrsd.org x3521

Una Hong - School Counselor - unahong@hvrsd.org x3518

Betsy Lee - School Counselor - elizabethlee@hvrsd.org x3522

Dr. Chris Velderman - Student Assistance Counselor - chrisvelderman@hvrsd.org x3539

Kristina Shaw - Virtual Pathways Counselor - kristinashaw@hvrsd.org

Samantha Awadallah - ACCESS Clinician - samanthaawadallah@hvrsd.org x3456

Jennifer Hastings - Administrative Assistant - jenniferhastings@hvrsd.org x3519

Molly Lytle - Administrative Assistant - mollylytle@hvrsd.org x3523