By: Emma Boyce

The Three Branches of Government

There are three "branches" of Government.... The Executive Branch, The Legislative Branch, and The Judicial Branch. These Branches aren't branches on a tree, they are just names that have to do with Government,.

Executive Branch

The Executive Branch is the job of the President. The President has the rights to enforce and implement laws. His assistants are the Vice Presidents and the Cabinet (see section at the bottom titled The Cabinet).The President can sign a bill into law or veto it. Another job of the President is that he can diplomacy with other nations, meaning he can make peace with or have good relations with the government in other areas. Also, the President is the Commander Chief of the U.S. Armed forces. To be a President, you at least have to be 35 years of age, and a natural born citizen and have to live in the U.S. for 14 years. Even if you are all of these things, you have to get elected (voted through by your country). If you win this vote, you will become President for 4 years.
Big image

Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch is the Congress. Congress has 2 parts~ the Senate and The House Of Representatives. The jobs of the Legislative branch are writing laws, declaring wars and approving presidential appointments. The House Of representatives has 435, based on population. To be part of The House Of Representatives, you have to be 25 years old and a citizen of your state for 7 years. To be part of Senate, you have to be 30 years old and live in your state for 9 years. Senate has 100 members, each state gets 2. Congress is elected.

Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch is the Judges. The Judges do not make laws, but interpret them. To interpret means to present the laws and explain them. The building that this takes place in is The Supreme Court.
Big image
The U.S. Government Explained in 5 Minutes