Mystery

Check out what your classmates are reading at NMS!

1. Tentacles by Roland Smith

Troubled waters! Cryptids--mythological creatures like the Loch Ness monster and Sasquatch--are Travis Wolfe's obsession, and he'll travel to the ends of the earth for proof. For cousins Marty and Grace, who have lived with Wolfe ever since Marty's parents disappeared, this means adventure--and danger! Now they're all en route to the South Pacific to track down a giant squid, but the freighter they're on seems to be haunted, and someone on board is determined to sabotage their mission. Will Marty and Grace get to the bottom of this fishy business, or end up at the bottom of the sea? http://www.amazon.com/Tentacles-Roland-Smith/dp/0545178169

2. Don't Stay up Late (Fear Street) by R.L. Stine

In the small town of Shadyside, don't stay up late, because horrible things can happen...


Both day and night, Lisa Brooks is plagued with nightmares and hallucinations. Could they be caused by the horrifying accident that landed her in the hospital for weeks? When Lisa finds out that a neighbor is looking for a babysitter for her little boy, Lisa jumps at the chance to keep busy and take her mind off of her troubling thoughts. But then the murders start -- and her friends begin dying one by one. Are Lisa's nightmares coming true? Find out in the next installment of R.L. Stine's Fear Street series, Don't Stay Up Late. http://www.amazon.com/Dont-Stay-Late-Fear-Street/dp/1250051622/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1456337893&sr=1-1&keywords=dont+stay+up+late

3. I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls) by Ally Carter

Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school-that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it's really a school for spies. http://www.amazon.com/Tell-Love-Then-Gallagher-Girls/dp/1423100042/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1456338515&sr=1-1&keywords=id+tell+you+i+love+you+but+then+id+have+to+kill+you+serie

4. Perfect : a pretty little liars novel by Sara Shepard

In Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four perfect-looking girls aren't nearly as perfect as they seem.

Aria can't resist her forbidden ex. Hanna is on the verge of losing her BFF. Emily is freaking out over a simple kiss. And Spencer can't keep her hands off anything that belongs to her sister.

Lucky me. I know these pretty little liars better than they know themselves. But it's hard keeping all of their secrets to myself. They better do as I say . . . or else!

http://www.amazon.com/Perfect-Pretty-Little-Liars-Book/dp/0060887389

5. Ruined: a Novel by Paula Morris

A gripping supernatural mystery and romance set in post-Katrina New Orleans.

Rebecca couldn't feel more out of place in New Orleans. She's staying in a creepy house with her aunt, who reads tarot cards. And at the snooty prep school, a pack of filthy-rich girls treat Rebecca like she's invisible. Only gorgeous, unavailable Anton Grey gives Rebecca the time of day, but she wonders if he's got a hidden agenda.
Then one night, among the oak trees in Lafayette Cemetery, Rebecca makes a friend. Sweet, mysterious Lisette is eager to show Rebecca the nooks and crannies of New Orleans. There's just one catch.
Lisette is a ghost.

http://www.amazon.com/Ruined-Novel-Paula-Morris/dp/0545042143/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1457713958&sr=1-1&keywords=ruined+by+paula+morris

6. Stormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz

Ten years ago, Anthony Horowitz introduced the world to Alex Rider . . . and now his debut mission is back in a special fully loaded anniversary edition! Packed with bonus material - including a brand new Alex Rider short story, a letter from Anthony Horowitz, and much more!

http://www.amazon.com/Stormbreaker-Alex-Rider-Anthony-Horowitz/dp/0142406112/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1457714006&sr=1-1&keywords=stormbreaker+by+anthony+horowitz

7. Ten by Gretchen McNeil

From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine.And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

http://www.amazon.com/Ten-Gretchen-McNeil/dp/006211879X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1457714051&sr=1-1&keywords=ten+by+gretchen+mcneil

8. The Falcon's Malteser: a Diamond Brother Mystery by Anthony Horowitz

When the vertically-challenged Johnny Naples entrusts Tim Diamond with a package worth over three million pounds, he’s making a big mistake. Tim Diamond is the worst detective in the world. Next day, Johnny’s dead, Tim feels the heat, and his smart younger brother, Nick, gets the package—and every crook in town on his back!

http://www.amazon.com/Falcons-Malteser-Diamond-Brother-Mysteries/dp/0142402192/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1457714408&sr=1-1&keywords=the+falcons+malteser

9. Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Stolarz

What's your worst nightmare?

For Ivy Jensen, it's the eyes of a killer that haunt her nights. For Parker Bradley, it's bloodthirsty sea serpents that slither in his sleep.

And for seven essay contestants, it's their worst nightmares that win them an exclusive, behind-the-scenes look at director Justin Blake's latest, confidential project. Ivy doesn't even like scary movies, but she's ready to face her real-world fears. Parker's sympathetic words and perfect smile help keep her spirits up . . . at least for now.

Not everyone is so charming, though. Horror-film fanatic Garth Vader wants to stir up trouble. It's bad enough he has to stay in the middle of nowhere with this group-the girl who locks herself in her room, the know-it-all roommate, "Mister Sensitive", and the one who's too cheery for her own good. Someone has to make things interesting.

Except, things are already a little weird. The hostess is a serial-killer look-alike, the dream-stealing Nightmare Elf is lurking about, and the seventh member of the group is missing.


By the time Ivy and Parker realize what's really at stake, it's too late to wake up and run.

http://www.amazon.com/Welcome-Dark-House-Laurie-Stolarz/dp/1423194721/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1457714840&sr=1-1&keywords=welcome+to+the+dark+house

10. Closed for the Season by Mary Dawing Hahn

A contemporary thriller by the bestselling author of The Old Willis Place.

Two 13-year-old boys, Arthur and Logan, set out to solve the mystery of a murder that took place some years ago in the old house Logan's family has just moved into. The boys' quest takes them to the highest and lowest levels of society in their small Maryland town, and eventually to a derelict amusement park that is supposedly closed for the season.

http://www.amazon.com/Closed-Season-Mary-Downing-Hahn/dp/0547398530/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1457714881&sr=1-1&keywords=closed+for+the+season+mary+downing+hahn