Presidential Election

This years presidential election consisted of Rutherford B. Hayes, Republican, and Samuel Tilden, Democrat. Tilden appeared to be the winner, receiving almost 250,000 more votes than Hayes. In January, Congress created the commission, group of seven Democrats and seven Republicans. On March 2, 1877, four months after the election, Hayes was confirmed and declared the winner.
Big image